• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • marshalp
    Automated Home Lurker
    • Jan 2011

New to Home Automation

I'm new to this, I would say that I'm a very technical person so should pickup home automations quite easy! I have worked in IT and infrastructure for over 15 years and have a good knowledge of network technologies and protocols.

I have been considering automating my flat, after lots of reading and research I stumbled across this site and forum.

Looking to automate the following:

Living Room
    Lights & Lamps
    Blinds

Home Cinema
    TV
    Amp
    HDX1000 Media Server (soon to be replaced by a Mac Mini
    Projector
    Electric Screen

Kitchen
    Lights

Bedrooms
    Lights
    TV
    Blinds

Other
    Heating
    Alarm

I want to control this with an iPad, iPhone and possibly a touch screen in-wall display, using something like a Global Cache iTach to control IR devices and Z-Wave for the rest.

My question, what is the best way to control all this? I though the best solution would be something like the HomeSeer Pro100, but it seems like old technology, its be around for quite a while. Is their a better controller, is it possible to use a MAC?

I want reliability and something thats not going to consume loads of electricity, but I also want flexibility and the option to upgrade/update as new technology becomes available.

Is Z-Wave even the right solution?
  • toscal
    • Oct 2005

Before I start recommending anything on the automation side. Do you have the opportunity to run cat5 cable through out your flat.
    For the home theatre system have a look at XBMC, they now do a version for the MAC if you want. But you can build a system and either use the Live version or install Ubuntu, then XMBC. That's what I did. I have a server in the garage with the films and music on.
    IF YOU CAN'T FIX IT WITH A HAMMER, YOU'VE GOT AN ELECTRICAL PROBLEM.
    Renovation Spain Blog

Comment

• marshalp
      Automated Home Lurker
      • Jan 2011