Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: new homevision user

Automated Home Lurker

Default new homevision user

Hi everyone
    Paul here
    just bought the homevision does anyone have any good tips when i start to set it up, im totally new to automation so any good avice will be welcomed
    im going to be using x10 stuff at first for lighting etc,i have a harmony 1000 remote which works my blu ray dvd ,skytv, av yamaha amp , and a spider box which is for euro tv , not sure if the homevision can make for a better settup to control my stuff ? i also have a standard burgular alam system again not to sure if i can hook that into the system ,and if so how does it control it ,hopefully thats give you guys, gals a bit of idea to start me off automating lol oh i am a spark by trade so hopefully that will help a little along the way, hope to here from all soon cant wait to get going as it should be here tomorrow
    Thanks Paul

Do you have the XM10 interface. As you will need one of these, to control your X10 stuff.
    The HV is very reliable. I use a Harmony 895 to control my HV. This remote came with the wireless IR sender. I stuck one of the remote IR eyes on to the front of the HV. I then used an old Sharp TV remote and taught the Harmony the IR codes and then labled the remote with lights on, lights off, Lounge bright lounge dim etc. Once I had done this I taught my HV these codes. Then assigned the relevant X10 commands to those codes.
    You should also head on over to the HV forum/user group .
    Programming the HV unit is quite straight forward.