Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Dynalite USB/RS232 module & software

  1. #1
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    4

    Default Dynalite USB/RS232 module & software

    Hello everyone,

    I am currently checking out Dynalite's intelligent lighting systems. I asked the installer to provide a module to integrate the system with a PC for remote control of the lights. He proposed the DTK-622 module. Has any used this module? I am reading that it requires the DLight2 software. Is it complicated to use? Can it be integrated with HomeSeer or other controllers? Does it provide some sort of API or a way to send commands to the lighting controller?

    I know that Dynalite provides another RS232 module: DMNG232, which can accept commands via telnet (I am a software developer so writing some code to communicate through this is a piece of cake). Should I go for this module or stick with the DTK-622?

    Thanks alot,

    George

  2. #2
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    19

    Default

    Can you inform us about Dynalite pricing? This information is impossible to find.

  3. #3
    Automated Home Jr Member nickgale's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Nottingham, UK
    Posts
    38

    Default

    Dynalite is only sold through installers who have been on training, that is why you won't find any pricing. The USB interface is used for programming using DLight and now Envision which replaces it (well overdue, DLight is 16bit!). You need the DMNG232 for integration which works in plain text mode i.e. send it "A=3 P=2 F=4" and all the lights in area 3 will fade to preset 2 over 4 seconds.

  4. #4
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    19

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by nickgale View Post
    Dynalite is only sold through installers who have been on training, that is why you won't find any pricing.
    So this means that it is very probably overpriced. Still it would be interesting to see any hint.

  5. #5
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kris2lee View Post
    So this means that it is very probably overpriced. Still it would be interesting to see any hint.
    yes it is kinda overpriced, especially when it comes to integrating it with the rest of the systems in the house - multi room audio & home theatre. I am now re-considering some alternatives, z-wave is becoming more and more interesting, and DIY touch keypads, but wall mount brackets are hard to come by.

  6. #6
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    19

    Default

    So nobody does not want to give any hard numbers?

  7. #7
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    19

    Default

    So, you can find Dynalite prices from Morban website (http://www.morban.co.uk
    ). Not for individual items but for packages but it would still give some price indication.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •