Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: PIR Sensor into Cortex

  1. #1
    Automated Home Jr Member jcmiguel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Ayrshire, Scotland
    Posts
    38

    Default PIR Sensor into Cortex

    I have one of these outside:
    http://www.gjd.co.uk/?id=opalxl
    Manual here:
    http://www.gjd.co.uk/pdf/techOpalXLUK.pdf

    I would like to connect it into Idratek using its 12v power supply from one of the nodes (and connecting the sensor into the DFP-H02. Power is easy but I am strugling to find the way for the sensor. There is an A (the other I would assume is the minus but I believe there is power as the specs talk about current ( A' Open collector -ve switching - 25mA max. Alarm period 400ms).
    Can anyone help me on that? What do I have to do to protect cortex and run the sensor into the module?
    Regards

  2. #2
    Automated Home Sr Member eddr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    51

    Default

    Funnily enough I'd like to know too - I think I'll be purchasing a couple of these. You'll have to let us know how you get on with it - Are you mounting it at the top of your house like in the diagram? I'd be interested to see whether it really does do that coverage!

  3. #3
    Automated Home Jr Member jcmiguel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Ayrshire, Scotland
    Posts
    38

    Default

    I have it 3mts high looking down and sideways. I will post results when working.

  4. #4
    Automated Home Sr Member ludditeal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    57

    Default

    Not an electronics expert and may be an easier way I guess but at the bottom of the PDF it shows a diagram for providing volt free contacts via a relay via a Diode and a relay. The first of the applications??

    Cheers
    Allan

  5. #5
    Automated Home Jr Member jcmiguel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Ayrshire, Scotland
    Posts
    38

    Default

    So let me try to get this right:
    In my picture I connect power from idratek rig at (+) and (-)
    I also connect (-) and A to the module sensor (a volt free connection).
    Can anyone with electronics understanding confirm that?
    Attached Images Attached Images

  6. #6
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    8

    Default Open Collector

    jcmiguel,

    All my idratek knowledge is theoretical at this point but that should work fine, open collector outputs basically use a transistor as a switch so the output is switched to gnd (-ve) or not. The only caveat is the "volt free" idratek input might need a 10k pull up resistor on it - can anyone with actual install experience comment? If you choose to use a relay instead make sure you add a diode as well. Are these PIR's cheap?

  7. #7
    Automated Home Guru Geps's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    136

    Default

    Wire it up with a relay as in the PDF you posted to. Then connect the switch contacts (Common and EITHER NO or NC) to the volt free inputs on the Idratek module and 0V (which way doesn't matter). I'm also not sure if you want to power the sensor off the Idranet....if it were me I'd be tempted to setup a higher rated power supply network for powering sensors.....

  8. #8
    Automated Home Ninja Viv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    284

    Default

    I have used about ten of these units in a property connected to a DIO module. However you can use the digital inputs on any of the Idratek modules.

    Power the unit from the Idratek supply. Ideally from the power being feed to the module whos inputs you are using.

    Simply connect the 'A' output of the sensor to the digital input of the module. The 'S' output is not used.

    Idratek modules have pullup resistors on the inputs so open collector outputs are suitable.

    On the Behaviour menu for the PIR object you would have associated with the digital input, you need to check the invert box so that it senses correctly.

    Viv.

  9. #9
    Automated Home Jr Member jcmiguel's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Ayrshire, Scotland
    Posts
    38

    Default

    Supper!
    Thanks Viv

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •