Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: xAP Hub for Linux (Archlinux)

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Automated Home Jr Member pete_c's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Near Chicago IL, USA
    Posts
    39

    Default xAP Hub for Linux (Archlinux)

    Are there any available xAP hubs for Linux out there?

  2. #2
    Moderator Kevin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    West Yorkshire
    Posts
    554

    Default

    Not a LInux guy but there's the code published for HAH LiveBox that I believe contains a hub , well maintained by Brett, and there's Patrick Lidstone's one..
    http://www.lidstone.net/html/infrastructure.html

    K

  3. #3
    Automated Home Sr Member kev_t's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Lincolnshire
    Posts
    58

    Default Linux Hubs

    Originally Brett's xAP Hub for the Livebox was based on Patricks, but he had some issues with it and made his own from scratch.

    Patricks is no longer being supported (by patrick)

    Ask in the forum for Livebox-HAH here http://www.homeautomationhub.com/forum

    Source code is here http://code.google.com/p/livebox-hah...s/hah/xap-hub/

    kevinT
    Last edited by kev_t; 4th May 2012 at 04:54 PM.

  4. #4
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    1

    Default

    I am using the code from Home Automation Hub on linux along with a couple of the executables as well as one i started writing to provide xap information from heatmiser thermostats. If you get a copy of the source code you then need to build xaplib first then the hub.
    I think i needed to copy the xaplib libraries into /usr/local/lib as well.
    If you go this route & have problems then just ask.

    John

  5. #5
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sparks View Post
    I think i needed to copy the xaplib libraries into /usr/local/lib as well.
    If you go this route & have problems then just ask.
    There are two way to compile up the xaplib2 library. You can compile dynamic or you can compile static there are targets in the make file for both. By default it compiles dynamic.

    A dynamic xaplib2.so requires that this library be accessible by the xap-hub at runtime so yes ideally place is in a path that is searchable by ldd - either /usr/lib, /usr/local/lib

    If you compile the xaplib2 library static the xap-hub binary will be a little large but it saves you this problem. On the HAH as flash space is precious I link everything dynamic to squeeze every little bit I can in. For a full Linux system its not so important.

    If you run into any issues post on the forums at www.homeautomationhub.com

    Brett

  6. #6
    Automated Home Jr Member pete_c's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Near Chicago IL, USA
    Posts
    39

    Default

    Thank-you guys.

    On another note I'm having a wierd issue relating to the broadcasts of xAP. I have one Wintel box running 6 different xAP applications and testing a dockstar with Archlinux on it running one xAP application. The linux box gets most of the wintel broadcasts except for one. Its that whole issue relating to what Linux is hearing as configured versus what the Wintel boxes are getting.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •