Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: Wind Sensing with Cortex

  1. #1
    Automated Home Guru neilhooper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Hereford, United Kingdom
    Posts
    124

    Default Wind Sensing with Cortex

    Does anybody have any suggestions or knowledge of any hardware that could be interfaced with Cortex / Idranet to measure wind speed, also any thoughts on the actual implementation and interfacing?

    - Neil

  2. #2
    Automated Home Legend chris_j_hunter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    North Lancashire
    Posts
    1,674

    Default

    we're looking to put a wind-sensor atop an aerial mast, so are looking, too ...

    how about :

    http://www.audon.co.uk/weather/vortex.html

    https://www.gavazzionline.com/pdf/DWS-V-DAC13.eng.pdf

    connected to a pulse-counting digital input ?

  3. #3
    Automated Home Guru neilhooper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Hereford, United Kingdom
    Posts
    124

    Default

    I've also found this

    http://www.emltd.net/products/wind/w...ection-sensors

    In addition to reed switch output it also has an option of a 0-10v conversion kit, however, they don't quote any prices so it may not be as economic as the option you've found above.

    They also do this

    http://www.emltd.net/products/precipitation/arg100

    which could also introduce rain sensing into the system.

    We might have to talk to Vivian about some extra options for the pulse count meter object.

  4. #4
    Automated Home Legend chris_j_hunter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    North Lancashire
    Posts
    1,674

    Default

    when we looked, we found a few more, but prices were always beyond us ...

    rain-sensing, looks tricky to do - a few days ago, we collected about 50mm of rain in our bucket (our manual rain-gauge) in about an hour, and for half that time it was raining just lightly ... ie: most of what we've found couldn't be readily connected to Cortex, and we're not sure any of them could cope with reality !

    OTOH, we've got one of these connected into Cortex via a digital input :

    http://www.hunterindustries.com/prod...i-clik

    (no connection) ... we were surprised by how small it is, quality is v.good, and it seems to work well - it's just on/ off, but can be set to switch on any one of five amounts of rain ... so an option might be to use several of them, to get more detail ...

    OTOH, for flood detection, we're using some of these, also connected to Cortex via digital inputs :

    http://www.rapidonline.com/Electroni...-Gentech-30818

    mounted into the end of some plastic conduit (water-tight seal readily achieved) we've got them dipped into a sump & a tank & find they work well - so an option we're considering is to make a rain-gauge using some more of them & a container, perhaps with a simple solenoid to allow automatically emptying, under Cortex control ...

    Chris
    Last edited by chris_j_hunter; 30th June 2012 at 10:00 AM.

  5. #5
    Automated Home Legend Paul_B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Eastbourne, UK
    Posts
    603

    Default

    Another way maybe to use xAP integration to Cortex and then RFXCOM that can pickup and translate radio signals sent by the Oregon Scientific range of weather station products (as well as many other radio based systems). Quite how this would be done in practice I'm not sure but I'm sure Kevin could advise

    Paul

  6. #6
    Moderator Kevin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    West Yorkshire
    Posts
    554

    Default Weather data

    Quote Originally Posted by Paul_B View Post
    Another way maybe to use xAP integration to Cortex and then RFXCOM that can pickup and translate radio signals sent by the Oregon Scientific range of weather station products (as well as many other radio based systems). Quite how this would be done in practice I'm not sure but I'm sure Kevin could advise

    Paul
    I have one of the Maplin wireless weather stations ~50 and I use the excellent (and free) Cumulus software which implements the xAP weather schema. So I have all the information from all the sensors available on xAP. I haven't ever brought this into Cortex as it didn't seem to have much use for such information. I have an outdoor IDRANet temperature sensor so never bothered with temperature. This should all be do-able though via the xAP object as it can extract data from any xAP schema.

    RFXCom / xAP is an alternative path.

    K

  7. #7
    Automated Home Legend Paul_B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Eastbourne, UK
    Posts
    603

    Default

    Just had a look at Cumulus and discovered it supports my weather station, Oregon Scientific WMR88, found something to do this evening! Thanks Kevin

    Paul

  8. #8
    Automated Home Legend Paul_B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Eastbourne, UK
    Posts
    603

    Default

    Thanks Kevin you just saved me some cash. Cumulus can read my weather station and it worked straight away. Now I need to link this to Node0, how to send USB over long distance, USB to ethernet?

    Paul

  9. #9
    Automated Home Guru neilhooper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Hereford, United Kingdom
    Posts
    124

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Paul_B View Post
    how to send USB over long distance, USB to ethernet?

    Paul
    Depending on how you want to go, I've got one of these http://www.maplin.co.uk/usb-cat5-booster-221290, works perfectly.

    - Neil

  10. #10
    Automated Home Legend Paul_B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Eastbourne, UK
    Posts
    603

    Default

    Cheers Neil, looks like what I need just need to run the cables and place a power feed into the wall where the weather station is placed

    Paul

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •