Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Ongoing development

Automated Home Lurker

Default Ongoing development

I'd like to request a 'state-of-play' for xAP. Is anyone actively developing any Connectors? Is anyone apart from Michael McSharry updating any existing Connectors or Applications?

The reason I ask, is that I would like to add an RFXtrx433 to my setup. This would let me dump most of my X10 kit as well as being able to easily add weather/smoke detection/blind control/curtain control/ gate control without adding more cables.

I have been running xAP for more than 9 years and have done a few installs for clients as well as my own network. Overall it has been great. I feel bad that I don't have the time/skills to help develop Connectors or maintain the existing Hubs, Connectors and Applications. I would like to know if now would be a sensible time to jump ship to something with a more active development community.

Picking an alternative isn't going to be easy, my current setup is:

xAP Floorplan (all my scripted events, web interface - stable)
    xAP Netiom (window sensors, door sensors, door bell, relays - rock stable)
    xAP X10 GUI (lights, sockets, remotes - stable)
    xAP mcsK3145 (temperature sensors - unstable)
    xAP mcs1Wire (temperature sensors, iButton door entry - unstable)
    xAP mscCID (Caller ID - stable)
    xAP Jabber (messaging - unstable)
    xAP Weather (local weather - stable)

I have been involved in a number of Open Source projects over the years and I understand that interest and available time can wane, so I'm just trying to find out if anyone was interested in finding a way to get a couple of new Connectors done.

Automated Home Lurker

I'm not sure about the state of play for xAP, it looks pretty much dead to me, but I'm an outsider, so there may well be a lot of ongoing development that's hidden to me.