Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 36

Thread: Which automation system

  1. #1
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    6

    Default Which automation system

    Hello all new member long time lurker!

    I have a bang and olufsen system and run some macro's for Beemer and IR lights using a lintronic device and some rs232 triggers.
    I want to add some remote control curtains to my bay window and start to have communication with m other rooms.
    What should I adopt to have full ipad control and that I can intergrate with my system, I did look at control four but it is only dealer setup which is annoying.
    Any idea's?

  2. #2
    Moderator toscal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Near Alicante Spain
    Posts
    2,010

    Default

    The loxone miniserver is one option. This has a Free iPad app and the server has a built in webserver.
    Another would have been the Homevision and Homevision Pro. But they are no longer being made.
    Idratek might be another option.

    The Lintronic looks an interesting piece of kit. Does it work well.
    IF YOU CAN'T FIX IT WITH A HAMMER, YOU'VE GOT AN ELECTRICAL PROBLEM.
    www.casatech.eu Renovation Spain Blog

  3. #3
    Automated Home Legend chris_j_hunter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    North Lancashire
    Posts
    1,674

    Default

    we're coming from another direction - ie: we have an Idratek set-up, and don't have a TV, but are thinking of getting one - and a B&O + a Lintronic (TT455-RT-238 and/or Relay 208) has been on our list of possibilities for a while ...

    NB: 'though we haven't tried it yet, Idratek offers an interface to iOS ...
    Last edited by chris_j_hunter; 31st October 2012 at 09:18 AM.

  4. #4
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by toscal View Post
    The Lintronic looks an interesting piece of kit. Does it work well.
    the lintonic is a excellenmt peice of kit, i use it to run a macro when it detects that my tv's open collectors have been closed. this then triggars IR to turn on my beamer and drop my screen. then dim the lights and the reverse after.

    it basically can take a signal RS323, IR, and others and turn it in to another IR,RS232, RS485 thing
    it works really well mine has been running for years and i dont use its capability at all compared to what it can do.

    cheers

  5. #5
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    6

    Default

    can this be programmed by joe public or is this stuff dealer only?
    where it says din rail its not in the consumer unit is it?
    Will it learn IR from anything?
    is there plenty of support online for getting things going
    is the cable CAT5 that can be used for the system to connect IR devices and pin outs etc?

    so many questions

  6. #6
    Automated Home Legend chris_j_hunter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    North Lancashire
    Posts
    1,674

    Default

    if you're referring to Idratek, then pretty-much positive to all of that - for more info', there's a forum on AH ...
    Last edited by Otto-Mate; 29th December 2012 at 11:05 AM.

  7. #7
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by chris_j_hunter View Post
    if you're referring to Idratek, then pretty-much positive to all of that - for more info', there's a forum on AH ...
    i meant loxone looks excellent

  8. #8
    Moderator toscal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Near Alicante Spain
    Posts
    2,010

    Default

    Yep Joe public can program it. Why not download the config software and watch the training videos. They are very helpful. And a good place to start to learn about what you can do.
    You can mount it where ever you want. I guess you could use CAT5. Why don't you drop them an email. They are very helpful.
    If I was to automate my house again, I would choose either the Loxone or Idratek systems.
    IF YOU CAN'T FIX IT WITH A HAMMER, YOU'VE GOT AN ELECTRICAL PROBLEM.
    www.casatech.eu Renovation Spain Blog

  9. #9
    Automated Home Guru Wexfordman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    118

    Default

    cough, velbus.....cough cough!! excuse me!

  10. #10
    Moderator toscal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Near Alicante Spain
    Posts
    2,010

    Default

    And a link for Velbus, would be nice plus your thoughts as well on it.
    IF YOU CAN'T FIX IT WITH A HAMMER, YOU'VE GOT AN ELECTRICAL PROBLEM.
    www.casatech.eu Renovation Spain Blog

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •