• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • SimonG
    Automated Home Lurker
    • Mar 2013

Homeseer SE set up

Hi there, as you can probably tell I'm new to the automation world, home wise anyway.
    I'm looking to purchase a Homeseer box as it's compatible with x10 along with z wave (which I'm more interested in to be honest) but I've seen afew x10 bits that would come in useful so Homeseer seems the right way forward,

I'm wondering, is the Homeseer unit as easy to use as the Vera (z wave) range? They seem to be very easy to set up I'm assuming a Homeseer box/gateway is as easy to set up?

Many thanks for any help in advance, I'll stop asking novice questions soon I promise(!)

Cheers!
  • toscal
    • Oct 2005

I used to use Homeseer and was a beta tester for V2.0 of their software. Its very comprehensive, but it can take time to get used to it. But it works well and you can do some pretty fancy things.
    The unit is basically a PC running a version of XP with the homeseer software built in. Basically the embedded version of xp means that only the components needed to run Homeseer are installed, this produces a light weight system designed to run only Homseer. So it may not run some software you may want to install.
    A client of mine was going to buy a Homeseer box, but instead bought a Dell PC (did not include monitor or keyboard etc he already had these) that was on special offer and then purchased just the software from Homeseer. The whole lot cost about the same as a Homeseer box (plus it had a better spec), at the time there was only one box to choose from. He got such a good deal on the Dell PC that he bought another as a spare.
    One thing I have found is that Homeseer prefers a PC that isn't running much else. So don't try and run too many other programs while Homeseer is running.

If you can, download the trial version from their download page and have a play
    IF YOU CAN'T FIX IT WITH A HAMMER, YOU'VE GOT AN ELECTRICAL PROBLEM.