Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22

Thread: Need to update Cortex PC ...

  1. #1
    Automated Home Legend chris_j_hunter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    North Lancashire
    Posts
    1,670

    Default Need to update Cortex PC ...

    looks like our PC is getting overloaded - but what would be better ?

    it's a VIA EPIA EK 10000G with maximum RAM & runs with Windows XP Pro at around 1GHz and a CPU load of around 80% ...

    would be good to get that down to around 30% - but how ?

    is it just a matter of a faster CPU, or are there other factors, too ?

    would a more recent Windows version be faster ?

    any thoughts ... ???

  2. #2
    Automated Home Legend chris_j_hunter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    North Lancashire
    Posts
    1,670

    Default

    this seems to suggest Windows 8 could be twice as fast as 'XP ...

    http://news.softpedia.com/news/Windo...o-329809.shtml

    but would Cortex be OK with Windows 8 ... ?

  3. #3
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Trowbridge, England
    Posts
    40

    Default

    XP is now end of life, so if you are replacing your PC I would certainly upgrade. I would suggest Windows 7 is the safer choice, but know of no reason why Windows 8 shouldn't work. That said I'm still running XP and don't intend to move in the near future as 'it just works'.
    Windows 8 might be engineered to exhibit faster speeds with regard to certain tasks and applications, but I'd be surprised if Cortex was measurably faster using the same hardware with Windows 8 as opposed to XP. I'm also a little surprised that the CPU utilisation is so high, are you using CCTV or running additional programs as well as Cortex on the PC?
    I'm running Cortex on a eleven year old laptop with 2Gb of RAM and it uses less than 10% CPU.

  4. #4
    Moderator toscal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Near Alicante Spain
    Posts
    2,008

    Default

    What do you mean maximum ram, figures please. To me that means 4Gb. But I know many VIA boards can only except upto 1GB.
    You could try and install a graphics card, but don't know how much that would actually help.
    Have you had a look in the prefetch directory you can delete all of the contents (do so at your own risk), this sometimes helps in speeding up the machine.
    How much space is left on the hard drive, ideally greater than 20%.
    Desktop should be a single colour back ground and very few shortcuts and absolutely no files stored on the desktop.
    Is the machine always at 80% or is it at certain times. Do you have other things running on the system. Try a lower screen resolution this sometimes helps.
    IF YOU CAN'T FIX IT WITH A HAMMER, YOU'VE GOT AN ELECTRICAL PROBLEM.
    www.casatech.eu Renovation Spain Blog

  5. #5
    Automated Home Legend chris_j_hunter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    North Lancashire
    Posts
    1,670

    Default

    many thanks, both, for thoughts ...

    just checked, and it seems ours has just 1Gb of RAM - must be enough, surely ?

    HD is hardly used (290Gb free out of 300Gb), and we’ve let Windows choose virtualisations etc ...

    we looked at Windows settings, and went for anything that was said to stand a chance of speeding things up - made no noticeable difference ...

    besides Cortex, we’ve nothing added & running, and Task Manager shows Explorer taking next-most (occasional spurts up to around five percent CPU utilisation) and everything else that Windows & Cortex needs runs at just a percent or two at-most ...

    there are spells when CPU utilisation drops to around 70% and, when we stop IDRAnet, it falls to around 15% ...

    we checked polling periods for modules, and found a couple with less than the standard five-minutes - one on 30s & the other on 10s - but bringing those into line those made no noticeable difference ...

    also checked Cortex settings - Logging is still set to its defaults, and nothing seemed out of kilter ...

    we already have StructureView rather than Comm’s showing on the left of the Cortex window ...

    just now, we just tried minimising the whole Cortex window, and (to our surprise) saw an immediate ten to fifteen % improvement, which is quite helpful ...

    hmm, and we’ve still a few more modules to install ...

  6. #6
    Automated Home Ninja Viv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    284

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by chris_j_hunter View Post
    many thanks, both, for thoughts ...

    just now, we just tried minimising the whole Cortex window, and (to our surprise) saw an immediate ten to fifteen % improvement, which is quite helpful ...
    I tried this on my own system and saw no significant change in CPU usage. Perhaps its related to a seperate graphics card?

    Viv

  7. #7
    Automated Home Legend chris_j_hunter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    North Lancashire
    Posts
    1,670

    Default

    maybe ...

    trace attached ...

    Task Manager Performance.jpg

  8. #8
    Automated Home Legend chris_j_hunter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    North Lancashire
    Posts
    1,670

    Default

    >separate graphics card ...

    we've none such - ie: we've just the basic VIA board plus and IVC200 video capture board (hardware there, but as-yet not utilised) ...

    Chris

  9. #9
    Automated Home Ninja Viv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    284

    Default separate graphics card ...

    Having a separate graphics card reduces the load on the CPU so I think in my case this is the reason I see no significant difference in minimising Cortex.

    Viv

  10. #10
    Automated Home Legend chris_j_hunter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    North Lancashire
    Posts
    1,670

    Default

    ah, thanks ...

    module polling intervals - would upping the interval a little, from the standard five minutes, have a significant effect on CPU loading ?
    Last edited by chris_j_hunter; 9th May 2013 at 09:42 AM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •