• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • marktrueman
    Automated Home Lurker
    • Jun 2013

New to HA, after a bit of advice - HomeEasy

Hi there

Im just getting into HA, and i'm after a bit of advice. My initial requirement for the new system is the following...

Replace part of the existing downstairs lighting setup with automated lighting so that I can link in PIR sensors to turn on hallway lights after a certain time (once everyone is in bed) if movement is detected. This should be dimmable. I would also like to be able to use the manual switch to turn the lighting on full power when required.

Ive looked at the homeasy stuff and i think it can do what i want

I believe i can replace my existing pendants in the hallway and the switches with these..

and use these PIR units...

I think i can place these switches anywhere as they are battery operated, but will probably put them in the same place as existing switches for now.

Am i also right in assuming that you no longer need a switched live for the existing lighting circuit (so the pendants are always effectively powered). I guess a simple way to handle this is with a chock block to complete the circuit in place of the old switch.

In terms of software, i plan on running the clever stuff on my media center pc (windows). Would i be able to use the RFXCom dongle

and something like http://www.domoticz.com/ to handle the communication between the lights and the switches. I guess you can use this to "proxy" communication between switches and lights as well as handling messages from PIR and then turning on and dimming lights as necessary.

I hope i've covered everything here and hope that someone can confirm that this will do what i want it to.

Cheers

Mark
  • skiv71
    Automated Home Jr Member
    • Apr 2013

Hi Mark...

Have you seen the system i've developed, packaged into an intel NUC http://www.wordpress-1219309-4387497...little-package.