Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: New to home Automation a few questions

  1. #1
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    3

    Default New to home Automation a few questions

    Hi Guys

    I want to build a security and Lighting system in my home which i possible i could control from 1 app as well as do this remotely i.e whilst away from home

    So basically want to be able to

    1) Arm, disarm and monitor Burglar alarm
    2) Turn lights on if i'm away longer then expected
    3) In some areas turn lights on with motion detection if it's dark outside or maybe based on specified time

    I'm not sure if anyone has done this successfully. Being in UK think choices are more limited

    I'd like the LightwaveRF stuff only issue is they not 2 way communication. But i like the look.

    As i newcomer i find it a real shame things are not standardised so you can use different bits from different suppliers

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Moderator toscal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Near Alicante Spain
    Posts
    2,019

    Default

    All of what you want to do can be done by the Loxone system
    Their case studies are worth reading.


    Another system is Idratek

    There are more but I consider these to be the best. And their customer support is very good, which is very important.

    Once you have had a look at these systems, see which one ticks the most boxes. Also try and think about the future and what you may want the system to do.
    IF YOU CAN'T FIX IT WITH A HAMMER, YOU'VE GOT AN ELECTRICAL PROBLEM.
    www.casatech.eu Renovation Spain Blog

  3. #3
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    3

    Default

    I knew i forgot to mention something

    I'd like to achieve as much as possible without doing any new cabling as i'm in New build home and no plans to tear down walls yet

    But i'll have a good read of the links

  4. #4
    Moderator toscal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Near Alicante Spain
    Posts
    2,019

    Default

    The Loxone system can be wire free if you use the enocean expansion module and then the enocean power modules to control lighting etc.
    IF YOU CAN'T FIX IT WITH A HAMMER, YOU'VE GOT AN ELECTRICAL PROBLEM.
    www.casatech.eu Renovation Spain Blog

  5. #5
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    41

    Default

    When it comes to security, I personally prefer a "stand-alone" alarm system like a Visonic Powermax, as typically a stand-alone alarm is designed specifically for that purpose and offers a wider range of security focused features.

    For my own system, I use a Powermax+ and then integrate that with a MiCasaVerde Vera Z-Wave controller for the Home Automation side - automatic lighting, alerts, motion detection etc.

    This way, if I'm away from home for some time and there's a power failure, or a glitch with the HA controller, I know that the stand-alone alarm is still going to be functioning and protecting the house. I try to make all of my HA work stand-alone as much as possible, with the additional smart stuff being an added benefit on top but not crucial to the basic functionality!
    Martyn Wendon
    Vesternet
    Check out my Blog!

  6. #6
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Looking around thats the way i'm leaning. But you describing your setup is very helpful. Still researching but ideas of what others use and have is always helpful when new to an area

    Thanks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •