Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Cable Purchase

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Automated Home Jr Member CableTie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    South Lakes
    Posts
    35

    Default Cable Purchase

    Ok Guys

    Can any of you recomend a good supplier of cat5e or 6 and CT100 cable . If cost is not to much more I would use shielded. Any pointers or leads appreciated. Also any info on cable id tags, I read about using coloured tape which I will use in some instances but I also want to use easily identifiable tags if any one knows of a product.

    Cheers
    Paul

  2. #2
    Automated Home Jr Member CableTie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    South Lakes
    Posts
    35

    Default Re: Cable Purchase

    Anyone used Screfix shielded Cat5e Cable

    http://www.screwfix.com/app/sfd/cat/...34326&ts=33213

    or is it worth going for Cat6 Shielded at 76.00 a drum

    http://www.cablenet.org.uk/catalog/cat6r.htm

    Come on guys someone must have an opinion

    Cheers

    Paul

  3. #3
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Homeless !!
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: Cable Purchase

    Dunno about the Screwfix cable, but I'd deffo recommend NOT putting in CAT6 into a residential environment. The physical installation problems and the extra cost far outweigh any advantage Cat6 has over Cat5e.

    Stick with Cat5e I'd say.

    Sorry I can't help with the other questions

    Shmern
    Shmern
    ---------------------------------
    http://shmern.org

  4. #4
    Automated Home Guru FrankMcAlinden's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Location
    Melbourne Australia
    Posts
    109

    Default Re: Cable Purchase

    Hi
    Have used brady cable markers for panel wiring have a look at the link you might find something...

    http://tinyurl.com/bevlr

    HTH
    Frank

  5. #5
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    14

    Default Re: Cable Purchase

    For CT100, use PF100 (same stuff) from TLC:

    http://www.tlc-direct.co.uk/Main_Ind..._PF/index.html

    Jim

  6. #6
    Automated Home Jr Member Marc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    49

    Default Re: Cable Purchase

    I've always used TLC for my cable, CAT5 and CT100.

    Example,

    CAT5 100m coil - 14.00 excl VAT
    CAT5 305m - 28.00 excl VAT

    http://www.tlc-direct.co.uk/Main_Ind...dex/index.html

  7. #7
    Automated Home Jr Member CableTie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    South Lakes
    Posts
    35

    Default Re: Cable Purchase

    cheers for the pointers appreciated

    paul

  8. #8
    Automated Home Guru vex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Herts/Beds/Bucks
    Posts
    197

    Default Re: Cable Purchase

    Cabletie,

    What sort of distances are you after?

    And where are you based?

    I might be able to get an installer to help out.
    www.intouchtech.co.uk (trade)
    NOW PART OF INVISION UK, One of the leading home technology distributors to the CI Market.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •