Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Double click

  1. #1
    Automated Home Ninja marcuslee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    261

    Default Double click

    Hi Guys,

    Anyone used the double click feature of a button?

    I've configured it, and it appears that it will do the actions, but only in addition to the normal single click action.

    ie in this case, I have a 2 button DBI button module with the two buttons configured as:
    Normal press = off and hold to reduce dim level
    &
    Normal press = on and hold to increase dim level

    Then I've added on double click:
    Lights to Scene 1
    &
    Lights to Scene 4

    The above is suppose to allow the normal press actions, but also give a shortcut to be able to double click to either the bottom-most dim level and upper-most dim level (Scene 1 & 4).

    However with the light son, the double click seems to also turn off the lights as well....

  2. #2
    Automated Home Legend chris_j_hunter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    North Lancashire
    Posts
    1,674

    Default

    we've had limited success with short, double, and long button presses ...

    for buttons connected via digital inputs we find they work OK, but for buttons on Idratek modules we've found behaviour very hit & miss, mostly miss ...

    not sure why, but we thought it might be due to our PC being too highly loaded ...

    but then, if that were so, why would the former work OK ... ?

    potentially a v.very useful feature, though, so we're v.keen to see it working ...
    Last edited by chris_j_hunter; 12th February 2014 at 01:16 AM.

  3. #3
    Automated Home Ninja marcuslee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    261

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by chris_j_hunter View Post
    we've had limited success with short, double, and long button presses ...

    for buttons connected via digital inputs we find they work OK, but for buttons on Idratek modules we've found behaviour very hit & miss, mostly miss ...

    not sure why, but we thought it might be due to our PC being too highly loaded ...

    but then, if that were so, why would the former work OK ... ?

    potentially a v.very useful feature, though, so we're v.keen to see it working ...
    Ah ok, thanks for reply Chris.

    I thought it was just a mis-programmed or mis-intepretation of how it should work.

  4. #4
    Automated Home Ninja Viv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    284

    Default

    'On Normal press (Default) connections are always actioned regardless of how you press the button e.g. quickly, slowly or otherwise.
    The receipient will receive a message when the button is pressed and again when released.
    Most objects respond to the press action and ignore the release. This is the default method of connecting a button. The Intercom is an example of press to talk release to listen.

    The 'On Single Click', 'On Double Click' or 'On Long Press' happen once on evaluation after a period of time (~ 0.5s).
    Only one of these three types should respond at any one time and allow multiple functionality with one button.

    You would not expect to have an 'On Normal press' and one of the three other modes because of the conflict it can produce (the On Normal press always actioning).

    *****************

    The 'Off and hold to reduce dim level' and 'On and hold to increase dim level' is decided by the Light Dimmer object. It makes a decision about how to react based upon the button press and release information it receives. A quick press simply turns it On or Off and a longer press starts the change in dim level for however long the button is held. By implication it requires the 'On Normal press (Default) connection to provide it with the required information.
    'Toggle and cycle dim level' has a similar behaviour.

    *****************

    So you could have one button 'On Normal Press' to 'Toggle and cycle dim level'.
    The second button could use one or more of the three special behaviours to select Scenes etc.

    Viv.
    Last edited by Viv; 12th February 2014 at 08:55 PM.

  5. #5
    Automated Home Legend Karam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    818

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by chris_j_hunter View Post
    we've had limited success with short, double, and long button presses ...

    for buttons connected via digital inputs we find they work OK, but for buttons on Idratek modules we've found behaviour very hit & miss, mostly miss ...

    not sure why, but we thought it might be due to our PC being too highly loaded ...

    but then, if that were so, why would the former work OK ... ?

    potentially a v.very useful feature, though, so we're v.keen to see it working ...
    Unfortunately I think it is to do with overloading because the timings are carried out by Cortex.

  6. #6
    Automated Home Legend chris_j_hunter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    North Lancashire
    Posts
    1,674

    Default

    seems likely, but why the difference between button types ?

  7. #7
    Automated Home Ninja marcuslee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    261

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Viv View Post
    'On Normal press (Default) connections are always actioned regardless of how you press the button e.g. quickly, slowly or otherwise.
    The receipient will receive a message when the button is pressed and again when released.
    Most objects respond to the press action and ignore the release. This is the default method of connecting a button. The Intercom is an example of press to talk release to listen.

    The 'On Single Click', 'On Double Click' or 'On Long Press' happen once on evaluation after a period of time (~ 0.5s).
    Only one of these three types should respond at any one time and allow multiple functionality with one button.

    You would not expect to have an 'On Normal press' and one of the three other modes because of the conflict it can produce (the On Normal press always actioning).

    *****************

    The 'Off and hold to reduce dim level' and 'On and hold to increase dim level' is decided by the Light Dimmer object. It makes a decision about how to react based upon the button press and release information it receives. A quick press simply turns it On or Off and a longer press starts the change in dim level for however long the button is held. By implication it requires the 'On Normal press (Default) connection to provide it with the required information.
    'Toggle and cycle dim level' has a similar behaviour.

    *****************

    So you could have one button 'On Normal Press' to 'Toggle and cycle dim level'.
    The second button could use one or more of the three special behaviours to select Scenes etc.

    Viv.
    Thanks Viv. Explains architecturally what's happening behind the scenes, and why what's occurring is occurring.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •