• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • adm
    • Feb 2014

Quick question - heater control

Hi All,

First post, and I am new to home automation, so please be gentle.

I took the plunge yesterday and ordered a tado kit to control my central heating and hot water as a first toe dipped into HA. While I wait for that to ship I have another need that should be easy to address, but haven't yet found the ideal solution....

My kids have a "den" above our garage. This is separate from the main house and is heated by an oil filled radiator. As they are kids, they tend to just leave the thing on full blast all the time - which obviously eats energy. I want to monitor the temperature in that room and control the heater to heat to a set temperature point as well as program a time schedule for it.

Some time ago, I built a PID based control unit for home brewing that can do this just fine, but it's a bit of a clunky solution and isn't remotely controllable.

So....is there a simple wifi controllable 240V socket with a built in temperature sensor that I can buy for this application? Or even separate temperature sensors and 240 socket?

Then, what software to use to monitor and control? Our house is all Macs, so it will need to be OSX compatible.

Many thanks on advance!
  • toscal
    • Oct 2005

There is the Belkin WeMo system, but this seems to have a few security issues. Then there is this energyEgg thing that was showcased on dragons den.
    There are GSM controllable sockets that have temperature sensing, such as this one I know its an EU socket but you could use one of those UK to EU adapter sockets if they don't do a UK version. You could send them an email to see if they can do a UK version. All you would need is the cheapest pay as you go card, as you only send it SMS messages. It can be programmed to send out SMS messages when certain conditions are met. Also you can set on and off time as well.