• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Jase17uk
    Automated Home Lurker
    • Feb 2014

New heating and MHRV control system - advice & recommendations needed

Hello guys/gals,

Its my first time posting in here, came across this forum when searching for the room humidity and temp sensors.

I am renovating a cottage that means I can install a wired system easily. It is preferable than wireless because of the thickness of the walls which are approx. 600mm thick and the layout of the cottage is not standard

The system I would like are: humidity and temp room sensors in each rooms (for the cellar, humidity, temp and CO2 sensor) and an outdoor sensor too that reports the temp & humidity back to a central programmable controller (with wireless facility for the tablet/smart phone). It will control the whole house MHRV and heating too.

MHRV- when a room(s) exceeds the set humidity level then MHRV switches on as soon the level drops back to set value then it shuts down, as for the cellar: both CO2 and humidity. The fan speed in MHRV is set by the controller depending on the situation e.g. if its night time the fan speed should be as low as possible. Also I am thinking of installing sensors for the windows and doors to sense if they are open then the MHRV is shut off regardless if a sensor reports a ventilation in a room is needed until all of the windows/doors are closed.

The CH system will be zoned, each rooms will have its own circuit. Ground floor: 5 zones of UFH and as for upstairs & cellar: 6 zones. UFH will be fed from a manifold with an actuator valve for each UFH zones and the rads will be fed from a separate manifold with an actuator valve for each zones.

I have looked at the room sensors on the net, they can cost up to £200 per sensor which is just plain crazy! I need to know which sensor to go for so I can wire up the rooms with correct amount/type of wires. Any recommendations where I can buy them?

I hope you can help! Thanks for your time reading