Page 45 of 47 FirstFirst ... 354041424344454647 LastLast
Results 441 to 450 of 470

Thread: Decoded - EvoHome API access to control remotely.

  1. #441
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    1

    Default

    Hi all,

    I just want to say thanks for a great piece of work ! (and one question...)

    Is it possible to read back the current operating mode (normal,economy,off,custom,etc). It looks like the Android app can do this, so it must be possible ? I want to set some complex rules for my smart home:

    on leaving house:
    set heating to economy unless heating is off or away

    and so on...

    Cheers,

    Neil

  2. #442
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    2,033

    Default

    Short answer, yes, you can read the current quick action mode using the Web API. It's done in the Domoticz script:

    https://www.domoticz.com/wiki/Evohom...ller_or_RFG100

    Check evo-update.sh.

    You might find this script helpful as well, it's a debugging script I cobbled together to explore all the data structures available in the Web API, both V1 and V2 API's:

    Code:
    #!/usr/bin/python
    
    import time
    from evohomeclient2 import EvohomeClient
    import evohomeclient
    client = EvohomeClient('email_address', 'password')
    client1 = evohomeclient.EvohomeClient('email_address', 'password')
    fi=client.full_installation()
    systemId=fi['gateways'][0]['temperatureControlSystems'][0]['systemId']
    modelType=fi['gateways'][0]['temperatureControlSystems'][0]['modelType']
    status=client.locations[0].status()
    tcs=status['gateways'][0]['temperatureControlSystems'][0]
    zones=tcs['zones']
    dhw=tcs['dhw']
    dhwstate=dhw['stateStatus']['state']
    dhwid=dhw['dhwId']
    currentmode=tcs['systemModeStatus']['mode']
    
    print fi
    print '\nsystemId: ', systemId
    print '\nmodelType: ', modelType
    print '\nstatus: ', status
    print '\ntcs: ', tcs
    print '\nzones: ', zones
    print '\ndhw: ', dhw
    print '\ndhwstate: ', dhwstate
    print '\ndhwid: ', dhwid
    print '\ncurrentmode: ', currentmode
    
    for device in client1.temperatures():
        print device
    Replace email_address and password in the two lines with your TCC login details. You'll need python and watchforstocks evohome client installed:

    https://github.com/watchforstock/evohome-client

    currentmode is what you're after but client.full_installation() returns a lot of other useful stuff. The script is hard wired to only read instance one on the Web API - only an issue if you have more than one controller registered to your account, and it's easy to change.

    The evohome client library has direct support for setting quick action modes:

    http://evohome-client.readthedocs.io...pi2/modes.html
    Last edited by DBMandrake; 18th December 2017 at 09:29 PM.

  3. #443
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Is it possible to read the heating demand for a zone now that the new controller software has been released? I had a quick look using the above script but I either missed it or it's not there.

  4. #444
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    2,033

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mr_Ess_Jay View Post
    Is it possible to read the heating demand for a zone now that the new controller software has been released? I had a quick look using the above script but I either missed it or it's not there.
    As far as we know the application facing API does not support it. We've asked if it will in the future but no confirmation has been given. So currently the only way to get it is with Domoticz and an HGI80. (Or manually look in the installer menu)

    It's unclear whether the controller itself uploads the heat demand data to the servers and they just aren't available via the public API's (yet?) or whether the controller does not even upload it. Hopefully is the former because that would mean it could be made available without a further firmware update for the controller.

    I tend to think that if for no other reason than debugging purposes the controller probably already uploads the heat demand data to the servers as well as set point and measured temperatures, and it just isn't exposed in the APi yet so here's hoping...

  5. #445
    Automated Home Legend paulockenden's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    South Coast
    Posts
    1,667

    Default

    Shame the wireless session is https, else a bit of wiresharkery might reveal all.

    It'd need some kind of man-in-the-middle hack pretending to be tccna.honeywell.com to get at the data. Doable, but not a five minute job.

    P.

  6. #446
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    2,033

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by paulockenden View Post
    Shame the wireless session is https, else a bit of wiresharkery might reveal all.

    It'd need some kind of man-in-the-middle hack pretending to be tccna.honeywell.com to get at the data. Doable, but not a five minute job.

    P.
    Know someone at a root certificate authority do you ? That's assuming Honeywell check the certificate properly...

  7. #447
    Automated Home Legend paulockenden's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    South Coast
    Posts
    1,667

    Default

    Oh, anything is possible... https://mitls.org/pages/attacks/SMACK

    Although given the Windows CE basis of the controller (I think) I suspect any checking will be minimal.

    P.

  8. #448
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Posts
    1

    Default

    I have come to this thread having just installed an evohome system and I am wanting to setup software that will allow me to monitor and log the system operation. This thread is very interesting but I am not able to get going. To install the evohome client API software base requires a login to http://www.mytotalconnect.com but it seems you have to live in the USA to get a login account. Have I missed something here (I have registered for the Honeywell Phone App but that login does not work)?

  9. #449
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    2,033

    Default

    Try this for the UK:

    https://international.mytotalconnect.../Account/Login

    This is linked from here:

    https://getconnected.honeywell.com/en/

    PS to Rameses/top brake, I assume Honeywell is aware of the scripting error in the login page ? It's been there at least a few months and looks a little untidy, although it doesn't prevent logging in...

    TCC-Login.jpg

    This is on Google Chrome.
    Last edited by DBMandrake; 26th January 2018 at 09:09 AM.

  10. #450
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Posts
    30

    Default

    Could anyone help with getting access to the api documentation? I have PM'd @jzwack-honeywell directly (here and elsewhere), but no response. I am particularly interested in callbacks (which the api must sure support, given the behavior of the Wifi Controller).
    Last edited by zxdavb; 1st May 2018 at 10:25 AM. Reason: minor

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •