Page 28 of 47 FirstFirst ... 18232425262728293031323338 ... LastLast
Results 271 to 280 of 470

Thread: Decoded - EvoHome API access to control remotely.

  1. #271
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    2,033

    Default

    You would need to log into the Honeywell total connect comfort website and create an account for yourself, then assign your Evotouch controller to that account, once you have done this you can access your device settings via the smartphone apps.

    If that works then any of the scripts in this thread should work, using the email address and password you chose, as they basically use the same API as the phone apps. (There is a V1 and V2 API - the phone apps both use the V2 API these days, but the V1 API still works, albeit it is a bit redundant as it is a subset of the functionality of the V2 API)

  2. #272
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Posts
    13

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by nieldm View Post
    Now to the dumb question. Do I need to register on the developer.honeywell.com website to get the required authorisations, or is it simply the "http://getconnected.honeywell.com/en/evohome" credentials? I see you pass username and password in most requests, but at the same time I see a Base64 encoded 'Authorization' parameter being passed so wondering where these came from.

    ...and finally, I did try to find all this information here and on the github site but I might well have missed it. If so, please be kind.....it's wasn't due to lack of effort!

    Many thanks again and kind regards
    Marc
    Hi - Your system should be registered here: https://www.mytotalconnectcomfort.com/ - I'd have thought the installer has done this for you? These are the credentials you use in the iOS app
    Have a look at my evohome plugin: https://github.com/freeranger/evolog...lugins/evohome which shows how I use the excellent watchforstock evohomeclient to make the calls.
    You do indeed pass in the username and password and it does...whatever it does. You can look under the hood of course, or just accept it and drive

    I registered at developer.honeywell.com and asked about public docs for the api....and got nothing back at all :/

  3. #273
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Posts
    11

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by freeranger View Post
    Hi - Your system should be registered here: https://www.mytotalconnectcomfort.com/ - I'd have thought the installer has done this for you? /
    Maybe I am missing something fundamental here - as far as I can tell that site is North America only. I have registered on the UK version and the iOS app is live and working.

    What I cannot see from the UK site is anything resembling a client ID for authentication. I get one, plus a Secret, when I register on the developer site and have no issue with the concept. Just trying the simple command in a browser :


    https://tccna.honeywell.com/WebAPI/api/Session?"Username":{website userID}&"Password":{website_password}&"Application Id":{copied from this thread}

    ....just returns a "...doesn't support method ...GET" response. Using /emea/V1 or V2 or indeed anything emea related , returns an error.

    I will take another look at your github stuff this evening and see if I can spot the "bleeding obvious" mistake(s) I am making....

    Thanks for responding so quickly!

    Marc

  4. #274
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    2,033

    Default

    You don't need a secret. Just use the email address and password with one of the already written binding libraries like watchforstock's Python library. It handles everything for you.

  5. #275
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Posts
    13

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by nieldm View Post
    Maybe I am missing something fundamental here - as far as I can tell that site is North America only. I have registered on the UK version and the iOS app is live and working.
    You choose your country and then register, but if you are all ready up and running then don't worry
    Forget the developer site - it's of no use here and they don't support public access to the API

    You can't just navigate to the API endpoint from the browser. You could use postman or similar and pass in the authentication headers but really, you're better off using an existing library to do all that.

    If you want to see what is involved in making a call to the API directly then look at the watchforstock client code here: https://github.com/watchforstock/evo...t2/__init__.py

    If you want to see usage of this library then look at the link to my plugin that I posted earlier.

  6. #276
    Automated Home Guru
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Posts
    238

    Default

    https://tccna.honeywell.com/WebAPI/api/Session?"Username":{website userID}&"Password":{website_password}&"Application Id":{copied from this thread}

    ....just returns a "...doesn't support method ...GET" response. Using /emea/V1 or V2 or indeed anything emea related , returns an error.
    I hit the same problem when initially trying to test out access to the Honeywell API using requests entered directly in the browser. As Freeranger has said, this wont work as the browser issues a GET request, but the Honeywell site is expecting a POST request which is best achieved from within some form of client. You can then store the SessionID which is needed for subsequent request and the watchforstock client handles all of this. It's worth spending a little while setting up the Python client and letting it handle all of this for you.

    Good luck!

    Dan

  7. #277
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Posts
    11

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DanD View Post
    It's worth spending a little while setting up the Python client and letting it handle all of this for you.Dan
    I am probably too old and uncool for Python, having tried to set up the client (using IDLE on a Mac) and failed miserably I will resort to my trusted Crestron dev environment which can send POST commands. Via Python I can enter commands one by one by copying them from the script examples or the github zip, and seem to be able to run the odd script like the init...py ones, but when something goes wrong I usually have no clue what to do.....

    No matter, this thread is still massively helpful!

    Thanks again
    Marc

  8. #278
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Posts
    13

    Default

    Macs come with Python installed these days but you can install it by following there instructions
    http://docs.python-guide.org/en/late...g/install/osx/

    Python has been around for a while - nothing hip or cool about it

  9. #279
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Posts
    11

    Default

    Installing it is the easy part, making head or tail of what to run, how to pass my credentials into whatever needs to run and so on, is something totally different. Despite having spent the week growing some facial hair, watching reruns of Silicon Valley, tearing my jeans and calling everyone dude, I have decided I agree with you I am not too old, just too stupid for python. Bring back Fortran ...

    I have, however, worked out how to make things hum via my alternative environment using a lot of the stuff I can see and understand but not make work, inside the python scripts, so thank you very much. My wife is now convinced that the investment in heating and hot water control is going up in smoke!

  10. #280
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Posts
    13

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by nieldm View Post
    Installing it is the easy part, making head or tail of what to run, how to pass my credentials into whatever needs to run and so on, is something totally different. Despite having spent the week growing some facial hair, watching reruns of Silicon Valley, tearing my jeans and calling everyone dude, I have decided I agree with you I am not too old, just too stupid for python. Bring back Fortran ...

    I have, however, worked out how to make things hum via my alternative environment using a lot of the stuff I can see and understand but not make work, inside the python scripts, so thank you very much. My wife is now convinced that the investment in heating and hot water control is going up in smoke!
    If you use my evologger then you just install stuff and add settings to the config.ini file - I have provided documentation for it - each plugin has a read me file as well as the overall one in the root of the project.

    The plugins themselves are fairly simplistic, especially since I use the Evohome client to do the heavy lifting so if you want to use that client then look at the plugin. Ditto for forecast.io and the other ones - there's not much code in them.

    If you are starting from scratch and don't want to use an existing library then just look at the Evohome client code but be warned - it is relatively complex...

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •