Page 10 of 46 FirstFirst ... 5678910111213141520 ... LastLast
Results 91 to 100 of 454

Thread: Decoded - EvoHome API access to control remotely.

  1. #91
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    45

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by nickpeirson View Post
    I started packaging up a library for the API in PHP a month or two ago based on the info in this thread and realised that I hadn't done much more on it recently, so thought I'd push it up in it's current state. It'll get information from the API quite happily, however I didn't put much effort into pushing back to the API. It's available here: https://github.com/nickpeirson/evohome-php

    Hopefully someone finds it useful. I'm not planning on doing anything much with it in the near future, but I'll happily help anyone else who wants to do anything with it and merge in any PRs to improve it.
    Really useful! Thank you!

    It's a LONG time since I dabbled with PHP, but having just installed my Evohome this caught my eye! I've got the code running, and have now got a (very simple) database logging readings. I'm not quite sure what I'm going to do with the data yet, but I like the idea of being able to trend how my house is behaving and just generally "play" with the data!!

    Thanks again!!!

  2. #92
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    45

    Default

    I've been having some fun with the PHP library, and using a database to log the results. I thought I'd share what I've got so far, mainly because I've not really found any examples of this being done with a "web" front end (maybe I didn't look in the right places!)

    I'm using Google Charts to produce the plots from data that is logged in to a MySQL database.

    It's a bit of a cobbled together script, but you can do things like:

    http://www.stuartandnicola.com/evo/e...t?name=Kitchen (show all data for a named zone)

    http://www.stuartandnicola.com/evo/e...Lounge&span=48 (show data for the last nn hours)

    http://www.stuartandnicola.com/evo/e...ate=2015-06-06 (show data for a specific date)

    Note that all charts show a constant set point of 5C as I'm away from home and the heating is off! The charts show up nicely on a laptop, but also on a tablet or even a phone, so even more ways to keep tabs on what the house is up to!

    A couple of interesting things have shown up though about the "natural" response of the house. I think the sensor in a loft room gets direct sunlight in the evening as there are huge temperature spikes each evening, and the response of my daughter's room looks very different to everyone else (much less variation, and consistently reads about 3C lower than anywhere else).

    But I think the ability to log is really interesting, and I'm looking forward to seeing what I learn when the system is turned back on!

    The code is very scrappy (more proof of concept) but I'm happy to share if anyone wants, and promises not to criticise my very rusty PHP!!

    Out of interest, what other 'extension' activities are underway around Evohome?

  3. #93
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Hi everyone,

    I've just had the Evohome system fitted for heating and hot water. I'm really impressed with the system it self but like many others, I'm a little underwhelmed by the lack of analysis data available.

    So I was looking into building something. I'm a .Net developer so was planning on building something in C# with a web front end. I had a look at the work that had already been done, especially surrounding the Python script and I started poking the service with Postman to try and get some data out of it. I managed to hit the authentication service using the API and get a bearer token which I then used to authenticate my other requests. But the rest of my requests didn't get any response.

    Is anyone still using the API, https://rs.alarmnet.com:443/TotalCon.../emea/api/v1/?
    Can you confirm it is working?

  4. #94
    Automated Home Legend paulockenden's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    South Coast
    Posts
    1,562

  5. #95
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by paulockenden View Post
    Thanks Paul,

    Have Honeywell released any of the API methods publicly, or has it all been obtained by watching the communication between the controller and api?

  6. #96

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by insin View Post
    Thanks Paul,

    Have Honeywell released any of the API methods publicly, or has it all been obtained by watching the communication between the controller and api?
    Honeywell have an Open API program which is available upon request. There is more news coming in the future around this and other stuff, but we have no information we can disclose right now.
    getconnected.honeywell.com | I work for Honeywell. Any posts I make are purely to help if I can. Any personal views expressed are my own

  7. #97
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Rameses View Post
    Honeywell have an Open API program which is available upon request. There is more news coming in the future around this and other stuff, but we have no information we can disclose right now.
    Thank you, that's very helpful.

  8. #98
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Guys - newby question - i dont know python, but i want to integrate EVOHOME and Homeseer2/3. I imagine a script running periodically to grab the info and put it to HS devices. Also other scripts triggered by events to change things in EVOHOME, like update set points, change modes etc based on user interaction with homeseer. So:

    So can anyone help with this?
    Q1. Do i need to install python and use the scripts in https://github.com/watchforstock/evohome-client? I dont know python but could research this.
    Q2. Anyone got this working on HS2/3? Anything to share?

    Actually, to clarify - HS i am pretty sure needs to run VB scripts, so i would need to find a way to convert the python to vbs.
    Last edited by r55boy; 8th September 2015 at 08:35 PM.

  9. #99
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by fraggel View Post
    I found this thread through google. I have done some of these analyses myself for other applications without an API.
    Nice to see that this protocol has been analysed this far already.
    I think about creating a c# implementation and linking it to HomeSeer, the home automation system I use.
    I haven't checked the complete library yet, but I am sure that I will find it helpful.



    The gateway is using HTTP-push protocol. It connects to the servers of HW and identifies itself. After that it just sits and wait for you to send commands through that server.
    It is a HTTP(s) client, not a server. Therefore the only way that you will be able to send messages to this device is to reroute the servers you mentioned above to your own server (which includes running your own DNS or a proxy) and implement your own serversoftware.

    The traffic you see is the instantiationrequest of the push protocol and keep-alive messages for the connection (which explains the low byte count). These can differ in contents due to server-architecture and implementation decisions.
    When it was a server, you would have to open up all kinds of ports on your firewall to get this to work. When using HTTP-push, it actually is a continuously open HTTP get-request and therefore can pass through a normal firewall without problems.
    Hi Fraggel - did you make any progress linking up to HS? Either a VB or C# script?
    Cheers...Sean

  10. #100
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Hi all,
    I recently started to log the temperature of my evohome system using a python script which is based on the one mentioned before on this forum. I have it set to retreive data from the honeywell site every minute. Unfortunatly after a few readings, the script ceases to operate as it is kicked of the server. Is this something that other encounter as well? Is there a solution??
    Regards, Rutger

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •