Page 20 of 47 FirstFirst ... 10151617181920212223242530 ... LastLast
Results 191 to 200 of 470

Thread: Decoded - EvoHome API access to control remotely.

  1. #191
    Automated Home Legend paulockenden's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    South Coast
    Posts
    1,693

    Default

    In JSON-speak, u at the start of a string means unicode.

  2. #192
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN, USA
    Posts
    36

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DBMandrake View Post
    As you have probably gathered Joe, the existing libraries and implementations such as the one from watchforstock were originally developed based on a reverse engineering of the over the air protocol, so it's possible that not everything about the API is understood correctly or done correctly - for example we were unaware that the address of the servers had changed, so it's a good thing you came along when you did.
    Yep, watchforstock and I have been chatting via PM. Fortunately the API our app uses in EMEA is the same as what I gave to SmartThings, I said when I get some spare time I'll provide suggestions (if I have any) on API use.

    Presumably the mobile apps were updated in a recent update to use the new servers but those of us using the APIs directly were oblivious to the change so would have been wondering what was wrong when the old servers were finally retired!
    Yes, eventually that domain would have gone completely dark. Glad I could help.

    I have a quick question regarding the V1 and V2 API's - which API is recommended for use for simple tasks such as polling the zone temperatures and set points every 5 minutes for graphing purposes - I had been using the V1 API purely because the V2 API had been returning about 25% HTTP 500 errors, thus leaving lots of gaps in my graph data. As the same data I needed was available from the V1 API and that did not seem to return any errors I used that.

    Assuming that the HTTP 500 errors are no longer an issue with the new server address, should I be switching back to the V2 API ? I don't know much about the APIs but I get the impression that the V2 API was implemented to provide for the new iPhone/Android app functionality of configuring schedules remotely which was absent in the V1 API, and it looks like the V2 API functionality is a superset of V1. So is it likely that the V1 API will get phased out any time soon ?

    After the update to the server URL's I'm finding both API's much quicker than before - previously the V1 API was taking maybe 10 seconds and the V2 API (when it worked) about 20 seconds. With the new server address the V1 API takes 3 seconds to return all my zone temperature and set point data and the V2 API takes 6 seconds, and so far (touch wood) no HTTP errors.
    So looking quick the V1 of the client uses our old API that works for both NA and EMEA devices (aside from the specific Evo resources). The V2 of the client uses the emea specific API. I would use that (it's the same our mobile app uses, along with SmartThings and other partners).

    Also, glad you're finding the new endpoint quicker. That was part of the plan!
    developer.honeywell.com | I work for Honeywell. API Evangelist. Views are my own.

  3. #193
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Posts
    13

    Default

    jzwack, while we have your attention

    Do you know why the API does not return the correct value for a HR92 mode? That is, it always says "Off", but allowedModes indicates that it could return either "Heat" or "Off" depending on whether its calling for heat. This would be useful data to have from the API.

  4. #194
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN, USA
    Posts
    36

    Default

    You specifically interested in what I would call "runtime"? As in is the valve actually open or closed? I don't know the specific answer to that, but I know in the US we don't enable that on all of our thermostats either. It's a power/firmware problem.
    developer.honeywell.com | I work for Honeywell. API Evangelist. Views are my own.

  5. #195
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Posts
    13

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jzwack-honeywell View Post
    You specifically interested in what I would call "runtime"? As in is the valve actually open or closed? I don't know the specific answer to that, but I know in the US we don't enable that on all of our thermostats either. It's a power/firmware problem.
    Yes, whether the valve is open or closed. The percentage it is open would be icing on the cake

    I assumed the controller must know whether a valve is open or not so it can control the boiler demand appropriately. Is this not the case?

  6. #196
    Automated Home Legend paulockenden's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    South Coast
    Posts
    1,693

    Default

    Remember that percentage open isn't quite the same as calling for heat.

    But also, HR92s don't just have an on/off heat demand - they can call for a percentage, as I understand it. So that's two percentages.

  7. #197
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN, USA
    Posts
    36

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by paulockenden View Post
    Remember that percentage open isn't quite the same as calling for heat.

    But also, HR92s don't just have an on/off heat demand - they can call for a percentage, as I understand it. So that's two percentages.
    That's true, thanks for correcting my language.

    But to answer the question, it's usually a firmware function that reports that data up to our servers. Without going to bug the engineers (who are not working at the moment), I would assume that's why you don't see it now. Reporting that data via the API is different than the actual functional operation of the device.
    developer.honeywell.com | I work for Honeywell. API Evangelist. Views are my own.

  8. #198
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    2,193

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by paulockenden View Post
    Remember that percentage open isn't quite the same as calling for heat.

    But also, HR92s don't just have an on/off heat demand - they can call for a percentage, as I understand it. So that's two percentages.
    Yes, the HR92 as well as having a continuously variable valve opening (Reported by Valve Position option 10 on the HR92 itself) also calls for heat on a percentage scale with 0% meaning no demand for heat (boiler off if no other zones have demands) and 100% meaning run the boiler continuously. (Which occurs if the zone is about 1.5 degrees or more below the set point)

    When in the proportional band they call for an intermediate value such as 50% that varies to help regulate the temperature. The interesting thing is that the HR92's don't talk directly to the Boiler Relay/OpenTherm bridge, they are only bound to the Evotouch controller, so they communicate their individual heat demands to the controller which then combines their individual demands using some algorithm and sends the aggregate heat demand to the Boiler Relay/OpenTherm bridge.

    So the information about which Zones are calling for heat and what percentage is available to the software running inside the Evotouch controller, even though it chooses not to expose that information via the API, or through the user interface. (It should be possible to obtain this information by snooping on the wireless communcations between the HR92's/Zone Thermostats and controller, and controller and Boiler Relay/OpenTherm bridge with an HCI 80 though)

    Making available the information of which zones are calling for heat via the API or user interface sure would make diagnosing unexpected boiler operation much easier...
    Last edited by DBMandrake; 20th January 2016 at 09:58 PM.

  9. #199
    Automated Home Legend paulockenden's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    South Coast
    Posts
    1,693

    Default

    I once discussed with a senior chap at Evohome [waves in case he's reading this] that it would be good to have two versions of the controller. A 'normal' one for average users and an 'enthusiast' version for tinkerers like us. The more I read the forums the more I'm convinced that would be a sensible move. We're all asking for things that could potentially introduce more risk of failure into the product, which would be unacceptable to the wider audience, but which those who wish to play might accept.

    The idea isn't unprecedented - some broadband router manufacturers, for example, have 'official' firmware, and also older versions open sourced which people can go away and play with.

  10. #200
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Posts
    13

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DBMandrake View Post
    It should be possible to obtain this information by snooping on the wireless communcations between the HR92's/Zone Thermostats and controller, and controller and Boiler Relay/OpenTherm bridge with an HCI 80 though
    Don't suppose anyone is in a position to check this? I'll buy one if its the case..

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •