Page 21 of 47 FirstFirst ... 11161718192021222324252631 ... LastLast
Results 201 to 210 of 470

Thread: Decoded - EvoHome API access to control remotely.

  1. #201
    Automated Home Sr Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    93

    Default

    What I'm waiting for is someone to release an app with graphs and 24 hour history of each zone for which I would pay. I would prefer it as a local install rather than a web service just cos I have a thing about security and the cloud. I have a programming background but now focus on data architecture so whilst would love such an app I don't have the time to write one myself and am a bit rusty on languages (anyone remember COBOL!!). Must be a market out there for such as product - maybe the group here could collectively form a business and market one. I'm up for purchasing one at the right price
    Last edited by SteveP; 21st January 2016 at 05:14 PM.

  2. #202
    Automated Home Legend paulockenden's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    South Coast
    Posts
    1,625

    Default

    Would you rely on Evohome's own temp sensors, or would you want properly external sensors?

    I'm tending towards the latter, if only to compare with the former.

    P.

  3. #203
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    7

    Default

    I have created an app and a windows service to log the evohome data along with the weather data from wunderground, currently logging to a SQL server db but this could be changed to something else without too much effort, API code is based on what someone posted in this thread

    example of a day for a zone
    client.jpg

    an example of if you hover over an entry, shows the weather data
    weather.jpg

  4. #204
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    1,890

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by paulockenden View Post
    Would you rely on Evohome's own temp sensors, or would you want properly external sensors?

    I'm tending towards the latter, if only to compare with the former.

    P.
    If you're going to go to the trouble of putting remote temperature sensors in each room to get a more accurate reading, why not just use a remote DTS92 so that the Evohome itself is also measuring the temperature more accurately, and thus controlling the room more accurately, instead of just measuring it accurately and finding that it was not controlling it as well as it should due to measuring at the radiator.

    You could use one reference thermometer to calibrate each DTS92. Of course there is the issue of the +/- 0.5 degree bias towards the set point, however does anyone know whether this bias also exists in raw data as monitored over the air by an HCI 80 ? I suspect not, and I'm sure I read that the raw data reads down to 0.1 deg c increments even though the current UI and Web API only read down to 0.5 degrees, with weird rounding behaviour... If it does indeed read to a resolution of 0.1 deg c and without the set point bias, it could be very workable to collect data in this way.

  5. #205
    Automated Home Legend paulockenden's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    South Coast
    Posts
    1,625

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DBMandrake View Post
    If you're going to go to the trouble of putting remote temperature sensors in each room to get a more accurate reading, why not just use a remote DTS92
    Because of the issues that you describe - 0.5 degree resolution, plus a bias towards the setpoint.

    Also, a load of Z-wave (or whatever) temp sensors will be cheaper than DTS92s.

    I think for a lot of people, room or rad stat reported temps will be fine. But I know there are also people in this very forum who don't trust them.

    P.

  6. #206
    Automated Home Sr Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    93

    Default

    Untitled.jpgUntitled2.jpg
    My son created the attached but didn't finish it before he "got distracted". It worked well providing a 24 hour rolling view of each zone showing external temp, room temp and set point. Sort of thing I am looking for and willing to pay for. It keeps crashing though and my son has too many other things to do to sort out.! The pop up allows you to hover over any point on the graph and it will show the 3 temps.

  7. #207
    Automated Home Sr Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Posts
    80

    Default

    I'm another who has created a Windows Service to capture all "realtime" data to a SQL database, and the new URLs are definitately quicker. Once in the DB you can do whatever you want with it visually and programatically.

    I also add my vote to get the HR92's heat request data via the Device's JSON data - it is the real missing bit of data to track exactly what the system is doing and why. Just always having "OFF" reported is a tad pointless.

  8. #208
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Posts
    7

    Default

    I'd love to have something along the lines discussed above. I'm not too fussed about where the temperature is read from. I'd be happy to pay for this if it wasn't mega-expensive.

  9. #209
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Posts
    14

    Default

    SteveP the interface of your son is good, if you share it maybe I can find some time to work on it.
    You can check my work in the attached picture, data logging (measured and setpoint), 12h/24h/48h/week/month view, single zone temperature hideable from the graph, external temp from wheatherunderground. We could merge the works. My code is a little bit rough and customized form me, I should work on it to generalize as much as possible, but I don't have much time.
    Quote Originally Posted by SteveP View Post
    Untitled.jpgUntitled2.jpg
    My son created the attached but didn't finish it before he "got distracted". It worked well providing a 24 hour rolling view of each zone showing external temp, room temp and set point. Sort of thing I am looking for and willing to pay for. It keeps crashing though and my son has too many other things to do to sort out.! The pop up allows you to hover over any point on the graph and it will show the 3 temps.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  10. #210
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    17

    Default

    Nice work @Rozza, @Nico, @SteveP's son! Can't we start a dedicated thread for projects using the API to store data and/or display graphical info? I'd love to know what tools you use, what platform etc, and what the result could be. And if you provided the code you use we could all benefit and help eachother?

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •