Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: H264 IP Cameras?

  1. #1
    Automated Home Sr Member John Winter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Buckinghamshire
    Posts
    55

    Default H264 IP Cameras?

    Hello Folks

    Seems like ages since my last post (it was!)

    Just wondering if Cortex will ever be capable of accepting H264 streams - it seems MJPEG is becoming less common now and it might make sense to move to the newer standard.

    I did a quick search but it seems no-one has yet posed the question.

    John
    --------------------------

    www.nodeone.blogspot.com

  2. #2
    Automated Home Ninja Andrew Millne's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    267

    Default

    I have nothing further to add but I'm following the thread with interest

  3. #3
    Automated Home Legend chris_j_hunter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    North Lancashire
    Posts
    1,675

    Default

    it has gone remarkably quiet - people must be busy !

    on the motorway, going north, yesterday afternoon, we found it extraordinarily busy - almost like there was an exodus from something we'd not heard of ...

  4. #4
    Automated Home Legend Karam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    818

    Default

    In the meantime you might want to experiment with re-streaming H264 to MJPEG using VLC. I've not tried it - just seen references to this as a possible method. Doing it natively in Cortex is not so straightforward at present.

  5. #5
    Automated Home Sr Member John Winter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Buckinghamshire
    Posts
    55

    Default

    Thanks Karam... and sorry folks for the very delayed reply.

    i was actually looking to reduce the load on (and ultimately the size of) my server by devolving the encoding to the cameras themselves - if server hosted VLC was used to re-encode H264 to MJPEG then my objective would be missed - is there any roadmap for Cortex to eventually support H264?
    --------------------------

    www.nodeone.blogspot.com

  6. #6
    Automated Home Legend Karam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    818

    Default

    I believe it is possible but expensive so not on the imminent horizon. I'm not sure how much the processing load would be reduced. Doesn't the decoding have to be done somewhere outside of the camera? I.e the H264 stream will have to be converted to a format more suited to image processing which I'm guessing would mean reconstituting image frames rather than working directly on the H264 data. Perhaps this process is quick compared to re-encoding to mjpeg (though the latter is a series of still image frames anyway).

  7. #7
    Automated Home Legend chris_j_hunter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    North Lancashire
    Posts
    1,675

    Default

    it is pretty intensive, we found, so we used an off-board processor to do our H264 processing :

    http://www.macworld.com/article/1141610/turbo264hd.html

    source material coming from EyeTV & exported to iPhone / iPod touch, only, though ...

    NB: not suggesting it's the answer to anything, just that the article gave some figures etc
    Last edited by chris_j_hunter; 8th November 2014 at 01:25 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •