Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 34

Thread: Evohome: changing schedule from IOS app

  1. #1
    Automated Home Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    149

    Default Evohome: changing schedule from IOS app

    is it just me or does changing the timing schedule from the iphone app not actually work ?

    setting temporary over-rides working fine.

  2. #2
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    NE UK
    Posts
    1,160

    Default

    When mine was working anything I changed in the app changed the controller. At present no matter what I change in the app it does not do anything. One way communication - the app receives status updates but only if I am at home and on WiFi. I cannot make changes in the app at all. Honeywell Support are currently looking into it. Cannot connect with the server at all using my iPhone away from home. All was fine until the middle of last week.

  3. #3

    Default

    Please make sure you tap the 'tick' (top right hand side) to commit the changes - this works for me, and well (I would say that though) - reason I know is because I use this route to mass change my schedule in one go. The extra real estate helps.
    See pic

    IMG_0634.jpg
    getconnected.honeywell.com | I work for Honeywell. Any posts I make are purely to help if I can. Any personal views expressed are my own

  4. #4
    Automated Home Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    149

    Default

    I definitely tapped the click - I even went back into the schedule after to double check......I didn't look at the controller afterwards. I only noticed the problem this morning when the heating didn't come on.

    Will experiment again tonight.

    FWIW the IOS app is still a little flakey - especially if you leave it running in the background. I suspect I see a crash in 25% percent of cases when I return to it. It's probably more than that if the phone has changed cell or from 3g/4g/wifi.

  5. #5
    Automated Home Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    149

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by orange View Post
    I definitely tapped the click - I even went back into the schedule after to double check......I didn't look at the controller afterwards. I only noticed the problem this morning when the heating didn't come on.

    Will experiment again tonight.

    FWIW the IOS app is still a little flakey - especially if you leave it running in the background. I suspect I see a crash in 25% percent of cases when I return to it. It's probably more than that if the phone has changed cell or from 3g/4g/wifi.
    Yep, that's broken for me. Tried resetting the gateway but no difference.

    If I schedule a change it appears in the app - but is not reflected on the controller.

    If I wait for 20 mins it disappears from the app too


    I'll log a call with Honeywell

  6. #6

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by orange View Post
    Yep, that's broken for me. Tried resetting the gateway but no difference.

    If I schedule a change it appears in the app - but is not reflected on the controller.

    If I wait for 20 mins it disappears from the app too


    I'll log a call with Honeywell
    Ok - but before you do - make sure you have tried all the stuff they will tell you.

    Uninstall app, reinstall app
    tried another device, etc.
    Have you rebooted (full power off gateway) and evohome (batteries out etc). You might have app on IOS updated but firmware push which enables the setting saves might have failed. etc. So you might be out of sync. Please try these things first - then they will do a deep dive into your issue.


    It does work, we just need to find out why on your device.
    getconnected.honeywell.com | I work for Honeywell. Any posts I make are purely to help if I can. Any personal views expressed are my own

  7. #7
    Automated Home Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    149

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Rameses View Post
    Ok - but before you do - make sure you have tried all the stuff they will tell you.

    Uninstall app, reinstall app
    tried another device, etc.
    Have you rebooted (full power off gateway) and evohome (batteries out etc). You might have app on IOS updated but firmware push which enables the setting saves might have failed. etc. So you might be out of sync. Please try these things first - then they will do a deep dive into your issue.


    It does work, we just need to find out why on your device.

    All fair points and thanks for the reply.

    I've done the uninstall and reinstall
    Same problem with an iPad
    Rebooted the gateway
    No way I'm rebooting the controller - it's freezing out there and I'm not waiting the potential hours for it all to start working again with 12 zones.
    I can't see anywhere that I can set "firmware push" ?

    As I say I can set temporary overrides fine

  8. #8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by orange View Post
    All fair points and thanks for the reply.

    I've done the uninstall and reinstall
    Same problem with an iPad
    Rebooted the gateway
    No way I'm rebooting the controller - it's freezing out there and I'm not waiting the potential hours for it all to start working again with 12 zones.
    I can't see anywhere that I can set "firmware push" ?

    As I say I can set temporary overrides fine
    Ha - you wont lose the schedule. The Hr92s will not take long to sync. (famous last words) - they will remain in their open position until told to do otherwise. But no problem if you dont & understand if you would rather do.

    The firmware push is instigated automatically (if there is one to be pushed to the gateway) when the gateway re-establishes connection with the TCC servers. Nothing for you do here.
    getconnected.honeywell.com | I work for Honeywell. Any posts I make are purely to help if I can. Any personal views expressed are my own

  9. #9
    Automated Home Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Posts
    149

    Default

    sync took 2 hours

    called it in to support but they don't know what's happening.

    My guess is that the sync between the controller and TCC isn't working properly.

    The app seems to update the server as you can see the change to the schedule that you have made even after restarting the app but it never makes it to the controller - what seems to happen then is after a few minutes that change disappears - probably because the controller has synced to the server and overwritten the change.

    just a guess of course.

  10. #10
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    NE UK
    Posts
    1,160

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by orange View Post
    sync took 2 hours

    called it in to support but they don't know what's happening.

    My guess is that the sync between the controller and TCC isn't working properly.

    The app seems to update the server as you can see the change to the schedule that you have made even after restarting the app but it never makes it to the controller - what seems to happen then is after a few minutes that change disappears - probably because the controller has synced to the server and overwritten the change.

    just a guess of course.

    Sync time. As mentioned elsewhere when I did it all the weekend for other reasons the TRVs were synced within 5 minutes, much less than that. Also for other reasons a battery out of the Controller exercise was done twice yesterday and when you put the batteries back it has to sync again. They do not all come back together to avoid conflicts but in all 5 minutes or so it all done. As you will see there are no problems taking power away from the controller including the batteries, the data remains safe. However, if you do a factory reset then that is a bigger issue.

    Your other issue sounds similar to one I have had since this time last week. I can make changes in the app, they show as done on another IOS device but never get through the controller and then disappear, yet changes in the controller get through to the app. A one way system, Honeywell Support are on to this for me. Their help has been great.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •