Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: Evohome Mobile Access Problem

  1. #1
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    11

    Default Evohome Mobile Access Problem

    Hi,
    Have looked at the other threads about Total Connect Comfort app access but cannot find the solution! I have installed Evohome couple of days ago. I use an iPhone 5C with the app installed on ios 7 (it is the European version). There's no problem using the app to access my system over wifi but I cannot get the app to work over mobile internet 3G or 4G with strong signal.

    I've checked that VPN is not connected and mobile data usage is allowed for the app. I get the same "unable to get your account information. Please try again. If problem persists visit www.mytotalconnectcomfort.com" message as others have had.

    Does anyone know how to get this to work? There must be plenty of iphone users who have Evohome accessing via mobile internet?

    Many thanks for any help.

  2. #2
    Automated Home Legend top brake's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    the edge of the cloud
    Posts
    827

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Chicken View Post
    Hi,
    Have looked at the other threads about Total Connect Comfort app access but cannot find the solution! I have installed Evohome couple of days ago. I use an iPhone 5C with the app installed on ios 7 (it is the European version). There's no problem using the app to access my system over wifi but I cannot get the app to work over mobile internet 3G or 4G with strong signal.

    I've checked that VPN is not connected and mobile data usage is allowed for the app. I get the same "unable to get your account information. Please try again. If problem persists visit www.mytotalconnectcomfort.com" message as others have had.

    Does anyone know how to get this to work? There must be plenty of iphone users who have Evohome accessing via mobile internet?

    Many thanks for any help.
    Contact Honeywell support who will be able to investigate and offer advice.
    An obvious question is do you have mobile data enabled?
    I work for Resideo, posts are personal and my own views.

  3. #3
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    11

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by top brake View Post
    Contact Honeywell support who will be able to investigate and offer advice.
    An obvious question is do you have mobile data enabled?
    Thanks Topbrake,

    Yes I have mobile data enabled for the app. Seems strange that works flawlessly over wifi but not 4G. When app doesn't work on 4G everything else does so must be a bug or the app has switched something on that's preventing access.

    Wondered if any iPhone users out there that have the app working over 4G and what their settings might be, iOS, etc?

  4. #4
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    NE UK
    Posts
    1,027

    Default

    I had the same issue when I first installed Evohome back in December. Honeywell support were not, on that issue, much use, just told me that I must have the wrong app installed! I hadn't. Strong signal, 4G just no good when in roaming mode. It cured itself after I had deleted the app, done a hard reset on the phone and reinstalled the app a couple of times.

    As you have probably read elsewhere another issue developed for me when I suddenly only had one way communication using the app. Roaming was mostly no good again. This was cured with the deletion of my account and setting up afresh - done by Honeywell as it seemed my attempts to delete were abortive. Then I had the VPN issue, at least I think that was the cause as all has seemed ok since I deleted VPN and did a a complete reset of my iPhone.

    Can only suggest you try deleting the app and doing a hard reset of the phone and if still not working try a complete reset of the phone - backup first!The app though is not wonderful. Ok when in wifi but using it roaming even with strong signals it is hit and miss whether you will get into your account and it is very slow communicating with the server. About the slowest app I have come across that connects and gets data over the Internet. Often you will find you have to exit the app completely and open it afresh.

  5. #5
    Automated Home Legend top brake's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    the edge of the cloud
    Posts
    827

    Default

    also worthwhile making sure your phone does not have loads of apps running in the background; this slows down the phone just as having multiple programs on a pc slows it down

    doubletap on iphone home button makes all the apps open visible and you can simply swipe them closed
    I work for Resideo, posts are personal and my own views.

  6. #6
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    NE UK
    Posts
    1,027

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by top brake View Post
    also worthwhile making sure your phone does not have loads of apps running in the background; this slows down the phone just as having multiple programs on a pc slows it down

    doubletap on iphone home button makes all the apps open visible and you can simply swipe them closed
    I have found little or no difference in the speed of operation of the app whether it is the only one open or one of several. It clearly prefers a wireless connection rather than roaming. What I need to try is a wireless connection in somebody else's home or business. I tried this some weeks ago and could not get into the account at all but have not tried it since "issues" have been resolved. There is though often time to put the kettle on whilst it makes contact!

  7. #7
    Automated Home Legend top brake's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    the edge of the cloud
    Posts
    827

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by G4RHL View Post
    I have found little or no difference in the speed of operation of the app whether it is the only one open or one of several. It clearly prefers a wireless connection rather than roaming. What I need to try is a wireless connection in somebody else's home or business. I tried this some weeks ago and could not get into the account at all but have not tried it since "issues" have been resolved. There is though often time to put the kettle on whilst it makes contact!
    how much free memory does your iphone have?

    you can find this out under setting/general/usage
    I work for Resideo, posts are personal and my own views.

  8. #8
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    NE UK
    Posts
    1,027

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by top brake View Post
    how much free memory does your iphone have?

    you can find this out under setting/general/usage
    Currently 19.5 gb. My wife's phone has 22gb free both exhibit the same "symptoms" when connecting with Evohome. They are on different networks.

    Out of interest have just tried to connect in roaming mode. First I got "access denied" a reasonably common message; more often it is a message telling me to try later. I exited the app and went in again, this time successful. I timed it, it took 15 seconds. That is fairly fast compared to other occasions. The app does work, it's just that access to the server is slow and sometimes one needs to exit and go back in again. That is more often the case if the app has been open using wifi and you have then changed to roaming.
    Last edited by G4RHL; 16th February 2015 at 02:40 PM.

  9. #9
    Automated Home Legend top brake's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    the edge of the cloud
    Posts
    827

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by G4RHL View Post
    Currently 19.5 gb. My wife's phone has 22gb free both exhibit the same "symptoms" when connecting with Evohome. They are on different networks.

    Out of interest have just tried to connect in roaming mode. First I got "access denied" a reasonably common message; more often it is a message telling me to try later. I exited the app and went in again, this time successful. I timed it, it took 15 seconds. That is fairly fast compared to other occasions. The app does work, it's just that access to the server is slow and sometimes one needs to exit and go back in again. That is more often the case if the app has been open using wifi and you have then changed to roaming.

    great thanks for the very useful feedback
    I work for Resideo, posts are personal and my own views.

  10. #10
    Automated Home Guru Vangelis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    131

    Default

    One thing to try (depending on IT proficiency) is a connectivity test to the 'Honeywell Servers' over WiFi and 4G

    Firstly you will need to find out what the FQDN of the 'Honeywell Servers' is (Top Brake may be able to assist), then run whats called a 'ping'

    To carry out this test over WiFi (as you have a iPhone), would be to run the ping from your Router (most home routers have this function under 'diagnostics'). The results should be sub 100msecs

    To carry out this test over 4G is a little more complex and will require 'tethering' a laptop to your iPhone. You will then run the same 'ping' to the FQDN of the 'Honeywell Servers' (which will in turn run over the 4G network) and compare results.

    Vangelis

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •