Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Evohome - use windows PC?

  1. #1
    Automated Home Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    103

    Default Evohome - use windows PC?

    Hi,

    I've been reading the "Decoded Evohome API..." thread with great interest. However almost all of it went over my head very quickly. Sign of getting old I think!

    I know there's no official way, but I don't have Linux etc, only ordinary Windows PC's and was wondering if there is any way to control Evohome or (more importantly) access/produce logs from Evohome to, say, monitor the room temperature over a 2504h period.

    Cheers!!

  2. #2
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    22

    Default

    The API has been written in Python. You can download and install Python for windows. Loads of material on YouTube about Python

  3. #3
    Automated Home Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    103

    Default

    ok have downloaded and installed python, but I can't run any of the scripts. I have tried to install "Requests" but to no avail.

  4. #4
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    22

    Default

    I use Geany to write edit and test looks like it's available for windows http://www.geany.org/Support/RunningOnWindows

  5. #5
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    22

    Default

    Start by writing something simple printing "hello world" search for Python in YouTube and get something working that's how I started.

  6. #6
    Automated Home Ninja Mavis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    North East
    Posts
    322

    Default

    I have bought myself a book called Computer Coding For Kids from the Book People that come to work. It covers Scratch and Python in detail. I am hoping that it is written at a level that I can following without having to think about it too deeply.

  7. #7
    Automated Home Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    103

    Default

    Ok, thank you for the replies.

    I have watched several videos online, read several guides etc and *think* I have installed requests, json and the evohome client form github.

    However, I've just tried running the script below (the first one shown on the Evohome API thread)...

    Untitled.jpg

    but I'm getting a message returned that the email or password are incorrect.

    I just wanted to check that I'm using the correct web addresses - is it different in the UK? The username and password I'm using are the ones I have to input to the iPhone app when first installed - yes?

    Thanks

  8. #8
    Automated Home Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Northern Italy
    Posts
    103

    Default

    ...on a remotely related subject, since I noticed you are using Python 3.4.3, I fought with a lot of errors with 3.x. Then I realized most of the code around is written for Python 2.x... Installed Python 2.7 and everything went fine since then.

    It seems developers are sticking to legacy more than I suspected...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •