Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Evohome Controller Location

  1. #1
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    48

    Default Evohome Controller Location

    Hi

    Having recently purchased and installed (with help and thanks to Richard at The EvoHome Shop), an Evohome system, I would like to wall mount my controller but the location will be on the wall above my Wireless Alarm keypad.

    Having read so much about the importance of the location of the BDR91 relays I was wondering if putting the controller near the alarm keypad would cause and problems. I found an article by Honeywell titled "Things to consider when installing wireless heating controls" and they clearly stated they wireless systems use their "own language" so there should be no interference from any other wireless equipment in the house.

    The total distance from the wall where I want to mount my controller and the airing cupboard is no more than 5 meters so I don't think it should cause any problems.

    Do you think it will work without any issues ? Would like to get your views before I drill a hole through my wall !!

    Many thanks

  2. #2
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    12

    Default

    What frequency/band is the wireless alarm operating on?

  3. #3
    Automated Home Legend top brake's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    the edge of the cloud
    Posts
    827

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by f1arp72 View Post
    Hi

    Having recently purchased and installed (with help and thanks to Richard at The EvoHome Shop), an Evohome system, I would like to wall mount my controller but the location will be on the wall above my Wireless Alarm keypad.

    Having read so much about the importance of the location of the BDR91 relays I was wondering if putting the controller near the alarm keypad would cause and problems. I found an article by Honeywell titled "Things to consider when installing wireless heating controls" and they clearly stated they wireless systems use their "own language" so there should be no interference from any other wireless equipment in the house.

    The total distance from the wall where I want to mount my controller and the airing cupboard is no more than 5 meters so I don't think it should cause any problems.

    Do you think it will work without any issues ? Would like to get your views before I drill a hole through my wall !!

    Many thanks
    "Things to consider when installing wireless heating controls"

    also recommends

    Whilst, as we have already said, our heating controls
    are operating in a way that will not cause any clashes
    with other wireless signals, it can happen that any
    electronic device emitting a signal in close proximity to
    the programmer or evohome controller or thermostat can
    saturate the surrounding area and cause disruption to the
    signal.

    We therefore recommend that you:
    Mount the product at least 1 metre away from any
    other wireless device
    I work for Resideo, posts are personal and my own views.

  4. #4
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    48

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by top brake View Post
    "Things to consider when installing wireless heating controls"

    also recommends

    Whilst, as we have already said, our heating controls
    are operating in a way that will not cause any clashes
    with other wireless signals, it can happen that any
    electronic device emitting a signal in close proximity to
    the programmer or evohome controller or thermostat can
    saturate the surrounding area and cause disruption to the
    signal.

    We therefore recommend that you:
    Mount the product at least 1 metre away from any
    other wireless device

    Wow, how did I miss that paragraph. I must of been scrolling through the document too quickly !! Thanks for pointing it out. It's very annoying as it's the only place I can put it (or want to put it)

  5. #5
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    48

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by willcurrie View Post
    What frequency/band is the wireless alarm operating on?
    It's 868MHz (same as Evohome I believe).

  6. #6
    Automated Home Guru Vangelis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    131

    Default

    From the alarms perspective, and based on the fact it appears to be communicating within the same frequency bandwidth, it may interpret the 'chatter' as an attempt to 'block' the signals from the perimeter sensors / control panel. Not ideal (albeit a small chance) when talking about your home's security...

    Vangelis

  7. #7
    Automated Home Sr Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    76

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Vangelis View Post
    From the alarms perspective, and based on the fact it appears to be communicating within the same frequency bandwidth, it may interpret the 'chatter' as an attempt to 'block' the signals from the perimeter sensors / control panel. Not ideal (albeit a small chance) when talking about your home's security...
    If it's a Yale alarm you probably have options to display on the control panel, dial out on the phone line and/or sound the siren if it detects interference at a level it thinks unacceptable. Maybe others do this too.

  8. #8
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    48

    Default

    Thanks everyone. I'm going to play it safe and have located somewhere else to put the controller.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •