Page 9 of 14 FirstFirst ... 4567891011121314 LastLast
Results 81 to 90 of 139

Thread: evohome Wi-Fi

  1. #81
    Automated Home Ninja Mavis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    North East
    Posts
    322

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by G4RHL View Post
    I can see the benefits of one unit and doing away with the gateway. It is simpler at the very least but there is another. I am quite happy messing about with electrics, computers, wifi etc. Have wireless light switches throughout the house, wireless controlled timers plus remotely controlled sound system in the house. I know what to do (usually!) if something fails or a reboot is needed of the router etc.

    What concerns me is if anything happens to me would my wife? She is not technically minded. Removing the Gateway and have it all in the controller is one less link to worry about. A small issue but for some an important one. Sadly we age, some find things have to be simpler as we do so. The update to the controller is a step in the right direction.

    I guess I better write some notes for my wife just in case!

    It is an issue we should not forget though as we march toward remotely controlling our homes. Of course I better add it is not just wives, there are husbands who remain ignorant of what is to be done and leave it to their wives. Are there not Mavis?!
    Totally agree. I am the techy one and am very similar to what you describe. If something isn't working I get a phone call at work asking me to sort it!! On a serious note I have had to source a couple of old Sonos original controllers (the chunky CR100 ones) so that my husband can use it. I had downloaded the app to his phone but he couldn't cope with it. My 'comms' cupboard is a mass of gateways and hubby would not have a clue but would be too scared to touch anything in there - even under instruction.

    My ideal setup though would be to have one large touchscreen panel on the wall which could control everything but with a front screen (similar to the homepage of the Evo controller) that has large symbols for each application (ie lights, heating, music, etc) but would also have the facility to create 'scenes' across all applications.

  2. #82
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    NE UK
    Posts
    1,102

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mavis View Post
    :

    My ideal setup though would be to have one large touchscreen panel on the wall which could control everything but with a front screen (similar to the homepage of the Evo controller) that has large symbols for each application (ie lights, heating, music, etc) but would also have the facility to create 'scenes' across all applications.
    Sounds like Apple Homekit - and controlled from your watch!

  3. #83
    Automated Home Ninja Mavis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    North East
    Posts
    322

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by paulockenden View Post
    Has anyone else had the controller reset when removing it from the stand? It's happened to me twice now. There's a very brief message on the screen, something about a logic line I think, and then it re-boots.

    P.
    This has happened to me a couple of times in the beginning but now I just leave it in the stand and unplug the power lead.

  4. #84
    Automated Home Ninja Mavis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    North East
    Posts
    322

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by G4RHL View Post
    Sounds like Apple Homekit - and controlled from your watch!

    The problem with tech is I always feel that everything is cobbled together as I invest in more. And of course there are all the different protocols to consider. As you all know I just love my tech but when it comes to trying to rationalise it I struggle - I had someone out for a quote to embed cables for my surround system and to distribute my Italian satellite to all TVs in the house. Now ideally I wanted someone who could say well you could do this, this and this or you could do that but instead I feel deflated that I am only going to get exactly what I have suggested to them (if that makes sense).

  5. #85
    Automated Home Sr Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    84

    Default

    I've had one of these for a few days now and can offer some thoughts...

    * Design is somewhat slimmer than the previous version, but not particularly noticeable unless positioned side-by-side. The glossy bezel is nice and looks expensive. It's also more secure and easier to drop onto the mount.

    * The screen is still resistive, but brighter with far more contrast. Touch sensitivity feels the same - you'll still need to jab at the little keyboard with a fingernail when setting it up.

    * Built in WiFi is great, though I found it had to be close to the router to connect for the first time.

    * I've discovered one new quick action, which is called "Auto With Reset". It's only available from an app - and possibly only mine at that - but it makes the device follow the schedule but also removes any overrides set on a zone. For example, my spare rooms are permanently overridden to 12C; this mode would make everything follow the schedule.

    [Shameless plug - I have the old controller, gateway, BDR91 and wallmount available in the for sale section]

  6. #86
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    NE UK
    Posts
    1,102

    Default

    [QUOTE=Fursty Ferret;23167]I've had one of these for a few days now and can offer some thoughts...

    * Design is somewhat slimmer than the previous version, but not particularly noticeable unless positioned side-by-side. The glossy bezel is nice and looks expensive. It's also more secure and easier to drop onto the mount.

    Is the mount the same as the original one? i.e. will the new model fit the old mount?

  7. #87
    Automated Home Guru
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    Netherlands, the
    Posts
    244

    Default

    No, I think they stated earlier they're incompatible.

  8. #88
    Automated Home Sr Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    84

    Default

    Yep, the new mount is a different size.

  9. #89
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Hi, I have a system that has two EvoHome controllers connected to one system with 19 zones. I have the most used zones, connected to one of the EvoHome controller which is linked to a RFG100 Mobile Access Kit.

    Does any one know if, I replace the old EvoHome Controlers with new EvoHome Wifi Controlers would I be able to control all 19 Zones remotely uesing the iPhone app?

  10. #90
    Automated Home Sr Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    84

    Default

    You can link two controllers to an access point IIRC. Not tried it personally though. Wouldn't this do what you want?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •