Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Alarm System?

  1. #1
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Posts
    7

    Default Alarm System?

    Hi Guys,

    I've been flirting with the idea of Home Automation recently and am now needing to install a new alarm system. I'm therefore thinking of taking the opportunity to install both systems as they appear to mix... in theory...

    I'm finding two main options:

    1. A traditional alarm system, that is compatible via serial or telnet and a Home Automation Gateway
    2. A Home Automation Gateway and use that as my alarm system

    What are peoples experiences with both these means of alarming your home?

    I have concerns over both and want to get an idea on Pros and Cons...

    Thanks,

  2. #2
    Automated Home Guru Vangelis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    131

    Default

    Simple....Keep the two separate. You don't want a Windows Update (for example) killing your home security!

    There are many systems that allow the two to communicate however. Just make sure the comms are not proprietary.

    Vangelis

  3. #3
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Posts
    7

    Default

    Thanks for the reply,

    So with them being separate and integrated via something like serial, can I get the same integration with individual sensors? Such as having a living room PIR trigger a lamp...

  4. #4
    Automated Home Guru Vangelis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    131

    Default

    Yes. The system I use has an Ethernet connection. I can monitor the protocols and perform actions (on my HA system) when sensors are triggered and the system arms etc.

    Vangelis

  5. #5
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Posts
    7

    Default

    Thanks,

    I'm just looking into it now... Would you recommend as both systems go? If you have a similar setup, do you mind be asking what you have?

    I'm thinking of Texecom Premier??? I'd like to have a nice physical interface.

  6. #6
    Automated Home Guru Vangelis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    131

    Default

    Sure. I'm running a Comfort Alarm System (cytech.biz) with Indigo HA (running on a Mac Mini), and voice recognition (running on an Intel NUC). They all talk to each other via IP

    Not played with Texecom but I know they have both a Serial and IP module. Just be careful of the current draw if you start adding internal modules to the alarm as their PSU starts at 1A. Also their configure SW is proprietary (unless you're and installer)

    Loxone have started adding some nice kit to their product line and their system is based on dedicated HW as opposed to application running on OS. I guess it all comes down to how much you want to play.

    Vangelis

  7. #7
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Posts
    7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Vangelis View Post
    Sure. I'm running a Comfort Alarm System (cytech.biz) with Indigo HA (running on a Mac Mini), and voice recognition (running on an Intel NUC). They all talk to each other via IP

    Not played with Texecom but I know they have both a Serial and IP module. Just be careful of the current draw if you start adding internal modules to the alarm as their PSU starts at 1A. Also their configure SW is proprietary (unless you're and installer)

    Loxone have started adding some nice kit to their product line and their system is based on dedicated HW as opposed to application running on OS. I guess it all comes down to how much you want to play.

    Vangelis
    Thanks for that. I'll checkout the products your using.

    With going down a separate Alarm system route, I'm leaning towards getting a certificated installer, but I'll see. If I do, I'll ask them for the software, but its a pain in the ass with it being only available to installers.

    I have been looking at Loxone for the reason of dedicated hardware/firmware, but there dam expensive. If I go the OS (Linux) route, I'd want to virtualise it, which will give me an amount of redundancy and flexibility at a reduced cost because I already have the kit.

  8. #8
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Posts
    7

    Default

    Just an update regarding this Wintex software. It is possible to register with Texecom and download the software.

  9. #9
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Posts
    3

    Default

    agree with Vangelis

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •