Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Evohome, binding three BDR91s

  1. #1
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    Herefordshire, near Ross on Wye
    Posts
    15

    Default Evohome, binding three BDR91s

    I have a boiler with two heating circuits, one for heating and one for hot water, both pumped.

    When I installed the DHW it prompted me to bind the tank sensor, then the relay which I have connected to the HW pump, and the boiler relay.

    When the tank sensor calls for heat the boiler fires and the HW pump runs.

    I have bound the radiators HR92s but I don't see where I can bind the relay for the heating pump. I think the boiler relay closes when they call for heat.

    Have I missed a stage where I should have told the controller that there is a pump/valve for both DHW and CH?

    The installation started out as an Evohomeshop "Honeywell evohome Wi-Fi Connected Value Pack A Item Number 75" which is a Connected Thermostat Pack plus a Hot Water Kit and 8 rad stats, I purchased the third relay separately.

    Thank you for any help
    --
    John Cooper

  2. #2
    Site Sponsor The EVOHOME Shop's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Powys, Mid Wales
    Posts
    479

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by John Cooper View Post
    I have a boiler with two heating circuits, one for heating and one for hot water, both pumped.

    When I installed the DHW it prompted me to bind the tank sensor, then the relay which I have connected to the HW pump, and the boiler relay.

    When the tank sensor calls for heat the boiler fires and the HW pump runs.

    I have bound the radiators HR92s but I don't see where I can bind the relay for the heating pump. I think the boiler relay closes when they call for heat.

    Have I missed a stage where I should have told the controller that there is a pump/valve for both DHW and CH?

    The installation started out as an Evohomeshop "Honeywell evohome Wi-Fi Connected Value Pack A Item Number 75" which is a Connected Thermostat Pack plus a Hot Water Kit and 8 rad stats, I purchased the third relay separately.

    Thank you for any help
    --
    John Cooper
    Hi John,

    Give me a call in the morning from 8:30am and I will go through this with you.

    Kind regards,

    Richard

  3. #3
    Automated Home Sr Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Posts
    84

    Default

    Hi John - it's a bit unintuitive - go to the installer settings menu, then system devices, then stored hot water. Go through the process there and instead of "Hot water only" pick "2/3 way valve" instead. This will prompt you to bind the sensor, hot water BDR91, and heating valve. It sounds like you've already bound your boiler relay.

  4. #4
    Automated Home Legend top brake's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    the edge of the cloud
    Posts
    827

    Default

    I am afraid a three relay system is not possible. The pump should be connected to the boiler relay or if you have an s plan it should be connected to the heating relay. Have a look at the example system schematics in the appendix of the installation guide

  5. #5
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    Herefordshire, near Ross on Wye
    Posts
    15

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by top brake View Post
    I am afraid a three relay system is not possible. The pump should be connected to the boiler relay or if you have an s plan it should be connected to the heating relay. Have a look at the example system schematics in the appendix of the installation guide
    Oh yes you can. Thanks to Richard of EVOHOME Shop for explaining it, and to Fursty Ferret. I am now firing on all cylinders.

    The Stored Hot Water setup covers the CH and HW valves or pumps, the boiler is bound separately.

    The trouble is my configuration is not S plan or Y plan or Z plan, but three discrete items. There is no example in the appendix to cover it.
    --
    John Cooper

  6. #6
    Automated Home Legend top brake's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    the edge of the cloud
    Posts
    827

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by John Cooper View Post
    Oh yes you can. Thanks to Richard of EVOHOME Shop for explaining it, and to Fursty Ferret. I am now firing on all cylinders.

    The Stored Hot Water setup covers the CH and HW valves or pumps, the boiler is bound separately.

    The trouble is my configuration is not S plan or Y plan or Z plan, but three discrete items. There is no example in the appendix to cover it.
    --
    John Cooper
    Incorrect Wireless binding between wireless devices.
    Binding (the partnership signal between wireless devices)
    is an essential part of any wireless system. Faults are
    often rectified by investigating
    how these bindings are set up
    in the system you are installing.
    1. Double binding of the boiler
    wireless relay (receiver) or
    the relay used to switch the
    zone valve in a sundial application.
    This most commonly results in red lights on the relays
    and communications errors on the evohome controller
    screen. Please refer to the installation guide to ensure
    that you have the correct bindings set up. If in doubt
    please follow the guided configuration screen and
    select Stored Hot Water Configuration and rebind the
    heating and hot water relays.
    2. Binding a boiler relay along with both sundial relays.
    These cannot exist in the same evohome system and
    will result in random boiler firing. Figure 4 on page 83
    of the installation guide refers. If the system has been
    configured with both hot water and heating relays and
    a boiler relay, the boiler relay can be deleted from the
    System Parameters menu.
    I work for Resideo, posts are personal and my own views.

  7. #7
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    Herefordshire, near Ross on Wye
    Posts
    15

    Default

    Are you saying my installation is incorrectly set up?
    --
    John Cooper

  8. #8
    Automated Home Legend top brake's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    the edge of the cloud
    Posts
    827

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by John Cooper View Post
    Are you saying my installation is incorrectly set up?
    --
    John Cooper
    Hi John

    Please re-read my previous posts, thanks
    I work for Resideo, posts are personal and my own views.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •