Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 47

Thread: Multiple BDR's

  1. #1
    Automated Home Sr Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    70

    Default Multiple BDR's

    I have Evohome with 8 rad controllers leaving bathroom rads uncontrolled, all operating through my CH Bdr91. A wireless hot water sender uses another Bdr91.

    I have three Honeywell zone valves, one for each of the above so they can operate and call for heat independently. The HW zone valve is routed via a seperate safety cut out thermostat on my pressurised tank.

    When the boiler was install I had a third zone valve installed for future underfloor wet heating. This is now complete and has a manifold obviously that is split between rooms with its own pump. I have a third Bdr91 and a wireless Honeywell rooms stat.

    My problem is that I need to wire the manifold pump so that it only operates when underfloor heat is required which I want to operate separately to the main rad CH. I've looked in the junction box and am blown away by wiring as was the underfloor heating installer who has never used Honeywell Evo gear.

    Where do I start. 3 wires from BDR91 and 5 from zone valve, plus the L/N/E from manifold pump.

    BDR91

    Br - live
    B - neutral
    Yg - ?

    Zone valve

    Br -
    B -
    Grey -
    Orange -
    Light brown -

    Manifold Pump

    Br - switched live when heat on/zone open
    B - neutral
    Yg - earth

    Is it as complicated as it looks??

  2. #2
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Cambridge, UK
    Posts
    18

    Default

    I have a third Bdr91 and a wireless Honeywell rooms stat.
    Have you considered using an HCC80R UFH controller? This is how we added UFH zones to Evohome. It drives the UFH pump and the actuators.

  3. #3
    Automated Home Sr Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    70

    Default

    I've only got the one UF zone and will never increase this. Thought a zone valve, BDR and therm would cover it.

  4. #4
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Cambridge, UK
    Posts
    18

    Default

    I think that you would connect the pump to the live output that is triggered by the microswitch sensor on the valve. It will then run when the valve is fully open.

  5. #5
    Automated Home Sr Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    70

    Default

    I'm tearing my hair out with this set up. 3 S plan vales each connected off their own bdr91 switch. HW, CH and 1 zone UF. The underfloor also has a separate manifold pump which is connected to the switched live that triggers boiler to stop it running 24/7 on permanent live.

    Problem1 : when BDR U/F triggers the UF S plan moves and the manifold pump runs BUT, the CH BDR and S plan also fire and non HR92 rads heat up in bathrooms. Not the end of the world I suppose but not how I wanted it.

    Problem 2 : when CH BDR triggers, this does not trigger U/F zone valve or BDR but the U/F pump runs as it gets its power from boiler switched live. The chances of CH running when UF isn't are slim but this is a waste of electricity and probably places unnecessary wear on pump.

    It can't be that hard!?!?

  6. #6
    Automated Home Legend top brake's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    the edge of the cloud
    Posts
    836

    Default

    recommend that you carry out the youlearn training. Link in my sig. This is easy to fix but in order to help you please first do the youlearn so we can talk in the same vocabulary thanks

  7. #7
    Automated Home Sr Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    70

    Default

    Sounds like a plan, can see any signature or link though. On an iPhone does that matter?

  8. #8
    Automated Home Legend top brake's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    the edge of the cloud
    Posts
    836

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by VvrooomM View Post
    Sounds like a plan, can see any signature or link though. On an iPhone does that matter?
    Youlearn.honeywelluk.com
    I work for Resideo, posts are personal and my own views.

  9. #9
    Automated Home Sr Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    70

    Default

    Thanks, even on the full desktop I still can't see any signature. Will start my learning today!

  10. #10
    Automated Home Sr Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    70

    Default

    All researched, think the problem maybe the wiring.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •