• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • rugbyscottie
    • Mar 2024

Help with zones

Hello everyone.

I'm a newbie who's looking for some help with setting up zones. I know this should be fairly simple but for some reason I cannot get it to work!

Here goes -

In my house I have a combi boiler which was controlled with a Honeywell CM927 combined wireless programmer / thermostat, which was connected to a BDR91.

I have replaced the CM927 with the evohome controller and I've had this working perfectly for the last few weeks on simply a one zone system for the whole house, i.e if the controller wants heat the whole house is heated. (The controller is located in the Hall and as my radiators are still all manual TRV's I would adjust these as and when needed dependning on time of day/ room occupancy etc). For the purposes of the evohome controller this 'zone' was called House.

I have now purchased my first wireless TRV (HR80) and I have tried to install this as a new 'zone' i.e bedroom 1 (which I thought would give me two 'zones' on the controller - 'house' and 'bedroom 1'. My logic here runs that if the house needs heat (according to the evohome controller in the hall) then the boiler fires up and all radiators will get heated depending on the TRV setting, but as 'bedroom 1' doesn't need heat until 10pm then this 'zone' will remain off, and at 10pm if the room needs heat then the boiler will fire and heat the room (granted until I have wireless TRV's on all rads then the whole house will be heated also, but the manual TRV's will be switched off when heading to bed).

However when I try to add 'bedroom 1' as a new zone it somehow replaces my zone called 'house' and I end up with only 1 'zone' which is 'bedroom 1'. I have tried various things with the 'configuring a zone with multiple rooms' settings as per page 38 in the installation guide, but with no joy.