• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • fresher
    Automated Home Lurker
    • Feb 2016

Product Selection for a Noob

Hello All -

So I'm a complete noob to this, so please bear with me! I have spent the last few days doing some research around home automation, read a few buying guides and a few threads on here. I'm basically looking to start down the path of home automation, with a primary view of improving energy efficiency in our family. So - heat, light and power sockets are my priorities - and specifically I would like:

- to have one button to turn off all the lights in the house. Surely the kids can manage to press ONE BUTTON before going to school - they are the last to leave the house in the morning and I often come home to half a dozen lights left on :-)

- heating: we have a fairly antiquated combi-boiler for radiators with a single thermostat at the top of the stairs - I'd like to replace this with individual radiator thermostats

- hot water - again, the combi boiler heats the water in the tank and is just on a daily schedule so sometimes we haven't enough hot water, and sometimes we have a full tank and no one using it - I would like a solution to match supply and demand...

- sockets - kids like to leave everything on all the time and rather than nagging I'd like to be able to make sure everything is switched off when I know no one is home - remotely from an Android app would be perfect. Even better would be to be able to remotely put their computers in to standby so I know I'm not accidentally trashing the homework they forgot to save by turning their machine off.

I don't want a solution that is cloud-dependent - internet outages are common enough for that to be a non-starter for me.

I want something that is relatively easy to set up - I don't have lots of time to invest in hacking scripts - while I'm technically minded and am not frightened of complexity, I don't have much time! Also, wife and kids need to be able to use everything with ease.