Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 56

Thread: Beginners guide to graphing Evohome temperatures using python and plot.ly

  1. #31
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Finally got it to work using Python2 on a raspberry pi3V only problem is the name of the first zone is not shown, temp setpoint and temp actual are displayed

  2. #32
    Automated Home Legend paulockenden's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    South Coast
    Posts
    1,664

    Default

    I think that first zone without a name will be your hot water.

    At least, that's what I saw when I was playing with some simple Python scripts.

  3. #33
    Automated Home Jr Member WiteWulf's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    Leicestershire
    Posts
    40

    Default

    Good to hear, Keith. Python's a pretty easy language to learn and doesn't let you get away with some of the bad habits of Perl. There are loads of resources online for learning more of it and it's really useful that most of Adafruit's lessons are based on Python or Arduino Wiring/Processing. Have the confidence to tinker and you'll soon be off and running

  4. #34
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Cambridge, UK
    Posts
    18

    Default

    Great advice on this thread. Thanks to everyone I have some basic plotting working through plotly. I am a new user to Plotly and not a huge fan, so I may try to roll my own plots like SteveP and his son. It would be great to see that code if it is up anywhere,

    I am polling Honeywell every five minutes and at first everything seemed fine, but now I notice that the plots (and the phone App) are now often out of date. In other words, the temperatures are not keeping up to date with the controller. I have an older controller with a RFG100 gateway. Is this a problem that other people have experienced?

    Dan

  5. #35
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Posts
    13

    Default

    Hi,

    I followed the instructions here to get my first evohome logging up and running (Thanks for the excellent clear instructions Bill!) and then went on to develop this: https://github.com/freeranger/evologger
    I'm not a python programmer though so it's probably all a bit pants.
    I have moved on from plot.ly - I use this with the influxdb plugin and graph actual vs desired temps in grafana, which is quite nice - but I would like to make my plot.ly plugin more useful.
    Currently it does exactly what was described in this thread (and linked github repo), which is to graph the actual temperature in each zone, but I would like it to plot that against the expected temp, same as I do in grafana.
    Does anyone have that working with plot.ly and would like to share the code? Thanks

  6. #36
    Automated Home Legend paulockenden's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    South Coast
    Posts
    1,664

    Default

    Initial State is another nice option for graphing - not free though.

    I currently have Evohome feeding SmartThings(*), and then SmartThings feeding Initial State.

    P.

    (*) NOT the official integration!!!!

  7. #37
    Automated Home Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Glasgow
    Posts
    194

    Default

    Yes, having a native integration with Initial State would be ideal. Wouldn't mind paying them a few bucks to just integrate it so easily.

    Wonder if anyone has suggested it to them ?

    Roy.

  8. #38
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Posts
    13

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by paulockenden View Post
    Initial State is another nice option for graphing - not free though.

    I currently have Evohome feeding SmartThings(*), and then SmartThings feeding Initial State.

    P.

    (*) NOT the official integration!!!!
    Looks like there is a free version, so you can see the last 24 hrs.
    Care to share your code for feeding into initial state and I can make a plugin out of it for my evologger app?

  9. #39
    Automated Home Legend paulockenden's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    South Coast
    Posts
    1,664

    Default

    No code involved - I'm using the built-in integration between IS and SmartThings.

    P.

  10. #40
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Posts
    13

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by paulockenden View Post
    No code involved - I'm using the built-in integration between IS and SmartThings.

    P.
    Ah ok - that's cheating, anyone could do that
    Did you have to do any setup in IS first? With plot.ly for example you have to get a bunch of stream id's manually and then manually (or through code) create graphs, then the 5 minute push is just to those streams.
    Did you have to do anything along those lines?
    What are you plotting in IS? I am typically plotting actual vs desired temp but maybe there are other more "useful" use cases?

    And while I'm here, is there any advantage to having ST with Evohome? If Evohome is the *only* smart thing I have, am I getting any benefit from adding ST to the mix?

    thanks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •