Page 10 of 21 FirstFirst ... 5678910111213141520 ... LastLast
Results 91 to 100 of 205

Thread: Evohome + Opentherm v Evohome + Boiler Outside Weather Compensation

  1. #91
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    988

    Default

    B-M. I am afraid that I left the installer to do that bit on his own so I can't help - sorry.

  2. #92
    Automated Home Legend paulockenden's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    South Coast
    Posts
    1,577

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by HenGus View Post
    Having now followed Paul's advice and deleted the CH wireless relay etc, I am now even more confused. There is now no mention of anything to do with the boiler in the System Menus - so no settings for boiler cycle rate, minimum time etc. Both HW and CH are working fine.
    With an s-plan system, conventionally wired, there is no control over cycle rate, minimum on time, etc.

    You only get those with a boiler relay. it's a silly limitation, really. I can't see any reason that we can't have those parameters, even when the boiler is being fired off the back of the control valves.

  3. #93
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    988

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by paulockenden View Post
    With an s-plan system, conventionally wired, there is no control over cycle rate, minimum on time, etc.

    You only get those with a boiler relay. it's a silly limitation, really. I can't see any reason that we can't have those parameters, even when the boiler is being fired off the back of the control valves.
    Thanks Paul. I learn something new every day about this system.

  4. #94
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    996

    Default

    Just looked at Richard's video for the Hot Water kit and clearly saw that a new menu appears only after the HW sensor has been paired (so I definitely need that). It then shows how the two BDRs are paired.

    I think for people who don't use the HW kit you can use the Boiler Demand Wireless Relay in the System Devices menu to trigger the CH zone valve so that it opens whenever there is Heating demand. The zone valve can then trigger the boiler via a wired connection in the junction box.

    OK so (Finally) back to Opentherm!

    Can I use the Hot Water configuration menus to open up the HW or CH zone valves as required. And then let the OpenTherm bridge handle the Boiler firing independently to the zone valve openings.

  5. #95
    Site Sponsor The EVOHOME Shop's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Location
    Powys, Mid Wales
    Posts
    479

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bruce_miranda View Post
    OK so (Finally) back to Opentherm!

    Can I use the Hot Water configuration menus to open up the HW or CH zone valves as required. And then let the OpenTherm bridge handle the Boiler firing independently to the zone valve openings.
    Exactamondo!

  6. #96
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    996

    Default

    Brilliant.

    So 4 pages of posts only to realise that Honeywell have put the S Plan HW/CH zone valve configuration under "Hot Water" which doesn't appear until you actually have a HW sensor!

  7. #97
    Automated Home Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Glasgow
    Posts
    186

    Default

    Yeah, EvoHome really needs some deployment application notes created for it. The guide it comes with is really bad, it shows you how to configure stuff, it has the diagrams for the different system types, it tells you there is guided config.

    But, no where does it actually link any of the above together.

    I should have app notes for deployment, ie. In a S-Plan system, do a factory reset, then enter Guided config, select Hot Water and then 2 2-port Valves and bind BDR91's. Do all this with pictures on it and then show a picture of the System Status menu to show what it should look like when done.

  8. #98
    Automated Home Legend paulockenden's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    South Coast
    Posts
    1,577

    Default

    I think the options are there in Guided Configuration, aren't they?

    But the supported S-Plan configuration includes the how water sensor.

    I'm not surprised that you hit problems if you don't follow the book.

  9. #99
    Automated Home Legend top brake's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    the edge of the cloud
    Posts
    827

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by roydonaldson View Post
    Yeah, EvoHome really needs some deployment application notes created for it. The guide it comes with is really bad, it shows you how to configure stuff, it has the diagrams for the different system types, it tells you there is guided config.

    But, no where does it actually link any of the above together.

    I should have app notes for deployment, ie. In a S-Plan system, do a factory reset, then enter Guided config, select Hot Water and then 2 2-port Valves and bind BDR91's. Do all this with pictures on it and then show a picture of the System Status menu to show what it should look like when done.
    the notes you describe are available as part of the online training course? they are certainly provided on the face to face installer training course. please bear in mind that evohome is fundamentally a product for professional trade installers.

    evohome can be applied in a variety of ways and as long as you follow guided configuration (and crucially answer the questions carefully) and refer to section 3 of the manual to bind the devices all should become clear.

    hope this helps explain why the product is the way it is.
    I work for Resideo, posts are personal and my own views.

  10. #100
    Automated Home Legend top brake's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    the edge of the cloud
    Posts
    827

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bruce_miranda View Post
    Brilliant.

    So 4 pages of posts only to realise that Honeywell have put the S Plan HW/CH zone valve configuration under "Hot Water" which doesn't appear until you actually have a HW sensor!

    I did my best to try to explain this at post #53
    I work for Resideo, posts are personal and my own views.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •