Page 12 of 21 FirstFirst ... 27891011121314151617 ... LastLast
Results 111 to 120 of 205

Thread: Evohome + Opentherm v Evohome + Boiler Outside Weather Compensation

  1. #111
    Automated Home Legend top brake's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    the edge of the cloud
    Posts
    827

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bruce_miranda View Post
    Most of the installations seem to be on Combi or System boilers. My boiler is a standard open vented and doesn't have the 24V RT and Burner Off jumpers. So it will be interesting to see if I can even install the VR33 in my Vaillant. I'll let people know how I get on.
    Let us know how you get along.
    I work for Resideo, posts are personal and my own views.

  2. #112
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    995

    Default

    Is it possible to show me a picture of where on the boiler board does the VR33 board plug into? It looks like it goes into X31 which is an edge connector on the boiler board.

    Also is your 230V RT linked or not, now with the VR33 plugged in?

    Reading another post it seems like I need to put back the link between 3 and 4 if I have an accessory connected. See

    https://translate.google.co.uk/trans...-text=&act=url

    (original http://www.klusidee.nl/Forum/aanslui...us-t98498.html)
    Last edited by bruce_miranda; 5th April 2016 at 11:52 PM.

  3. #113
    Automated Home Legend top brake's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    the edge of the cloud
    Posts
    827

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bruce_miranda View Post
    Is it possible to show me a picture of where on the boiler board does the VR33 board plug into? It looks like it goes into X31 which is an edge connector on the boiler board.

    Also is your 230V RT linked or not, now with the VR33 plugged in?

    Reading another post it seems like I need to put back the link between 3 and 4 if I have an accessory connected. See

    https://translate.google.co.uk/trans...-text=&act=url

    (original http://www.klusidee.nl/Forum/aanslui...us-t98498.html)
    Yes edge connector to X31 on the main board

    No link in 230V RT
    I work for Resideo, posts are personal and my own views.

  4. #114
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    995

    Default

    Will pushing the button on the Opentherm fire the boiler up? similar to if I was using a BDR91 as a boiler relay.

  5. #115
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Posts
    22

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bruce_miranda View Post
    Will pushing the button on the Opentherm fire the boiler up? similar to if I was using a BDR91 as a boiler relay.
    Pressing the button on the OT Interface does fire up the boiler, but I suspect that the Evohome would signal it to turn off again within a few minutes.

    I do know that when you press the button the green LED does not come on permanently, it continues to flash indicating that it is talking to the Evohome.

    Pressing the button again turns the boiler off again.

  6. #116
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    995

    Default

    The reason i ask is should I consider the Opentherm bridge as overridable and hence in the accessible airing cupboard or consider part of the boiler which is in the loft. Currently my BDR91s are in the airing cupboard and if I ever need to, i push the button to turn the function on.

  7. #117
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Posts
    22

    Default

    It might be a good idea to have it accessible, just in case it ever saves you a climb up into the loft if you need to perform any re-binding for example.

  8. #118
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    995

    Default

    I've not had sucess getting this to fire the boiler.

    I installed the VR33 and the LED is solid green indicating the module is working fine. The Opentherm bridge is also working and I get the Green Flash every 10 seconds. Both the VR33 and the Opentherm bridge LEDs pulse to show they are talking to each other.

    The boiler's diagnostic d.90 also indicates the module has been detected by the boiler.

    What i cant seem to get working is getting the boiler to fire via the Opentherm Bridge. In fact shorting the OT jumper on the VR33 also doesn't fire the boiler.

    If I short the boiler 3 and 4 then the boiler is on continously (which i fully expected).

    I think I need to set the boiler to an eBUS control rather than the 230V input it is currently set up for.

  9. #119
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    45

    Default

    I have a Vaillant 637 system boiler running with the VR33 and OpenTherm bridge.

    In my case I removed the existing 230V connection that was wired to the BDR91. I connected the VR33 to the expansion board on the side (for me, X31). I also had to reinstate a jumper on the 24V RT connection (for me this was X100, coloured white, and labelled RT24). The boiler installation instructions explicitly say to REMOVE that jumper when using 230V controls. There was a handy little piece of wire in the VR33 box that did just the job. The VR33 instruction (assuming I read the Dutch properly!) don't seem to specifically point this out, presumably because the module could go in various boilers. The installation manual my boiler does say that RT24 might also be labelled X106.

    I too get a confirmation on diagnostic code 90, so it sounds like the module has been recognised.

    I don't know the specifics of how the wiring works inside the boiler, but I am guessing that in the absence of the RT24 jumper then the circuit is broken and hence the boiler never fires up? My understanding is that shorting the OpenTherm connection itself should cause the boiler to fire.

    Hope this helps!

  10. #120
    Automated Home Legend top brake's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    the edge of the cloud
    Posts
    827

    Default

    Great explaination

    Quote Originally Posted by StuartG View Post
    I have a Vaillant 637 system boiler running with the VR33 and OpenTherm bridge.

    In my case I removed the existing 230V connection that was wired to the BDR91. I connected the VR33 to the expansion board on the side (for me, X31). I also had to reinstate a jumper on the 24V RT connection (for me this was X100, coloured white, and labelled RT24). The boiler installation instructions explicitly say to REMOVE that jumper when using 230V controls. There was a handy little piece of wire in the VR33 box that did just the job. The VR33 instruction (assuming I read the Dutch properly!) don't seem to specifically point this out, presumably because the module could go in various boilers. The installation manual my boiler does say that RT24 might also be labelled X106.

    I too get a confirmation on diagnostic code 90, so it sounds like the module has been recognised.

    I don't know the specifics of how the wiring works inside the boiler, but I am guessing that in the absence of the RT24 jumper then the circuit is broken and hence the boiler never fires up? My understanding is that shorting the OpenTherm connection itself should cause the boiler to fire.

    Hope this helps!
    I work for Resideo, posts are personal and my own views.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •