Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 33

Thread: new version of TCC app out today

  1. #21
    Automated Home Ninja Mavis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    North East
    Posts
    322

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by G4RHL View Post
    I find I don't have to swipe the screen, just touch it at the top and temperature setting goes up, touch at the bottom and it goes down.
    Oh, I hadn't realised that you could do this - yes I agree it is easier to do this - tap for each increment of 0.5c. I had been randomly touched the screen and tried to drag the temp.

  2. #22
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    NE UK
    Posts
    1,011

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Mavis View Post
    Oh, I hadn't realised that you could do this - yes I agree it is easier to do this - tap for each increment of 0.5c. I had been randomly touched the screen and tried to drag the temp.
    Don't worry it is not immediately obvious. No instructions! But then do we read them?! It is easier and to an extent the app is a little clearer. The design and use of colour is not wonderful and it is clear whoever was writing the software was thinking of functionality and not appearance yet the latter can make the former seem easier.

  3. #23
    Automated Home Legend paulockenden's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    South Coast
    Posts
    1,577

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by G4RHL View Post
    Don't worry it is not immediately obvious. No instructions!
    Good UX is about things being obvious without instructions!

  4. #24
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    1,804

    Default

    Has anyone noticed that the manual override times in the new iPhone app are now displayed an hour out ?

    For example if I set an override for a zone to end at 10pm via the controller, the phone app reports it as 21:00.

    If I go to modify the override time via the phone app the time wheel will report an initial time of 9pm - if I then set it to say 10:30pm it will in fact set the time to 10:30pm (as reported by the controller) but the main screen of the phone app will report it as 21:30...

    Quite why the phone app has a mixture of 12 and 24 hour time in the same interface (even the old version of the app) has always puzzled me.

    Another issue I have noticed recently is overrides made via the phone are sometimes partially ignored. For example I might set 16 degrees until 10am, yet when I check a few minutes later the app reports the correct override time, but the temperature is the un-overriden temperature from the schedule instead of the override temp I chose. The override time was honoured, but the override temperature was ignored.

    I've been noticing quite a few anomalies like this recently where what is reported by the phone app and what the controller reports are not fully synchronised and some attempted changes from the phone app are ignored.

  5. #25
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    988

    Default

    Yes, I noticed the hour out for the first time yesterday. I thought that I must have had another senior moment.

  6. #26
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    1,804

    Default

    The one hour offset seems to have resolved itself today - it seems almost as if there is an out by one day error in the handling of daylight savings in the app...

    The problem with some changes requested via the iPhone app not being applied remain though. In the past I have always received an email reporting "Failed zone change" when this happened but recently I've noticed that some changes are reported by the app as taking effect, yet when I check a few minutes later the change has been ignored/reverted and there is no failed zone change email...most frustrating.

  7. #27
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Posts
    23

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DBMandrake View Post
    The one hour offset seems to have resolved itself today - it seems almost as if there is an out by one day error in the handling of daylight savings in the app...

    The problem with some changes requested via the iPhone app not being applied remain though. In the past I have always received an email reporting "Failed zone change" when this happened but recently I've noticed that some changes are reported by the app as taking effect, yet when I check a few minutes later the change has been ignored/reverted and there is no failed zone change email...most frustrating.
    I have been receiving a number of failed zone changes email alerts in the last few weeks. This is disappointing, as it makes the Evohome system somewhat unreliable. For me it is good to know that others are experiencing similar problems. Hopefully, after the holidays Honeywell personnel on these forums will look into these issues and get them sorted. Must also check that all changes are being implemented if you DB have noticed that some of your changes are not being implemented and you haven't received alerts. Thanks for letting us all know.

  8. #28
    Automated Home Sr Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Hampshire, Great Britain
    Posts
    76

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Jom View Post
    ...This is disappointing, as it makes the Evohome system somewhat unreliable.....Hopefully, after the holidays Honeywell personnel on these forums will look into these issues and get them sorted.
    From what I have read here, and elsewhere, I will not upgrade my app. until these issues have been resolved. Hopefully someone from Honeywell will keep us advised of progress in this respect.

  9. #29
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Posts
    43

    Default

    I'm still really not liking the swipe to set the temp idea, I have set Temps I stick to and swiping I'd just too twiddly to achieve my desired specific temp.

    How can i role the app back? Is there a way?

  10. #30
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    NE UK
    Posts
    1,011

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Andehh View Post
    I'm still really not liking the swipe to set the temp idea, I have set Temps I stick to and swiping I'd just too twiddly to achieve my desired specific temp.

    How can i role the app back? Is there a way?
    I don't swipe to change the temperature. There is no need. Just touch the top of the screen to increase and the bottom to decrease. It's simple.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •