Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 114

Thread: Evohome + HGI80 & Domoticz users - zones calling for heat functionality?

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Automated Home Guru
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Posts
    238

    Default Evohome + HGI80 & Domoticz users - zones calling for heat functionality?

    Hi,

    I've seen a number of people with the Evohome system asking for the functionality to be able to see which zones are calling for heat. I'm working on enhancements to the Domoticz Evohome code at the moment for monitoring and controlling the system via the Honeywell HGI80 usb device. The heat demand messages appear to be sent about every 20 min from each zone and I'd be interested to hear what kind of information people would like to see. Possibly just a flag/icon to show which zones are calling for heat or also adding in the heat demand value?

    For those of you with one of the HGI80 devices, a couple of my small Domoticz Evohome bug fixes have made their way into the main pre-release Domoticz code and hopefully they'll be in the next release. In the meantime, I'm working on extending the Evohome functionality in Domoticz and I've just completed testing out the ability to add non-Evohome room temperature sensors as remote temperature sensors and released this update to my development area. I'm now working on being able to monitor the temperatures from all devices within zones where multiple HR92s have been grouped into a single zone. I think this will be helpful with optimising and troubleshooting the setup of these zones or just if you're interested in seeing even more info on what's going on around your house.

    For anyone interested in testing out or playing with my updates, here's a link to my github development area:

    https://github.com/Evsdd/domoticz

    Thanks,

    Dan

  2. #2
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    1,928

    Default

    Although I don't have an HGI80 (yet!) I am watching this with interest. As a techie and a tinkerer I like to know how things work in as much detail as possible so this level of monitoring is definitely interesting.

    A heat demand indicator for each zone displayed on the controller and app really should be a standard feature though. Are you listening Honeywell ?? Even a little flame indicator icon in the coloured bar where the override icon appears with 1, 2, or 3 fingers to indicate low (maintenance) medium or high heat demand would be welcome. (And no flame when there is zero demand from that zone)

    We know the controller has this information because it receives it from the zones and relays it to the boiler Relay / OpenTherm Bridge to fire the boiler, so why not display it ? Even a DTS92 has a flame indicator when used to directly fire a BDR91, shame that it also doesn't show a flame indicator when it is calling for heat when used as part of an Evohome system.

    Trying to diagnose why the boiler relay has come on when no zones are apparently requiring heat is a relatively common situation users (especially new ones) find themselves in - and unless you have an HGI80 there is really no direct way to diagnose this problem without a lot of tedious trial and error.
    Last edited by DBMandrake; 16th May 2016 at 09:06 AM.

  3. #3
    Automated Home Guru
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Posts
    238

    Default

    Hi,

    Here's an update on adding the ability to monitor the zone heat demand with the HGI80 and Domoticz. I've completed testing my updates to the code and added the updates to my github development area. All of the zones now appear as switches which show their current heat demand (On/Off and % demand). I've added a couple of screenshots to show how this looks in the switches tab and the dashboard. It's not perfect, but hopefully it a helpful start in being able to monitor which zones are calling for heat. During my testing I noticed that my DHW seemed to be behaving strangely and not switching off boiler demand and hence my other post on the forum.

    Demand - Switches.jpg

    Demand.jpg

    PS If you want to try out the functionality I recommend backing up your Domoticz db before installing just in case you hit any problems.
    Dan
    Last edited by DanD; 21st May 2016 at 05:54 PM.

  4. #4
    Automated Home Legend paulockenden's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    South Coast
    Posts
    1,645

    Default

    That's fantastic!

    P.

  5. #5
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    1,928

    Default

    Very very nice!

  6. #6
    Automated Home Guru
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Posts
    238

    Default

    Thanks.

    I've made a couple of updates to the code to fix some small bugs which were causing a duplicate 'DHW Valve' device and also occasionally overwriting the correct status and posted the updates to my Github area. I thought I'd post a little more information on what to expect if you do want to try it out. If you do want to try it out either back-up your Domoticz db or create a separate area on your pi. You'll need to follow the wiki guide on installing from source and start by cloning the git repository:

    git clone https://github.com/Evsdd/domoticz.git <folder name>

    When you've successfully compiled it, I recommend deleting your HGI80 hardware device and adding it again. I've added functionality to the code to auto-name all the temperature zones after 10mins which makes it a bit less of a pain to set-up. After a few mins you should start to see some additional devices named 'Zone' with the subtype 'Relay' appearing and it can take up to an hour for all your devices to appear as some send very few messages. Here's a couple of screenshots to show what the 'Relay' devices should look like. If you have any zones with multiple radiators & HR92s you'll see a unique device for each HR92 so you may see duplicate Unit values, but with unique IDs.

    Zones.jpg

    Here's how the DHW, Boiler and CH should look:

    Devices.jpg

    If you choose 'Add Device' by clicking on the arrow next to each on the devices page they will then appear under the switches tab. You can get a simple graph of the On/Off data over time from the switches tab, but at the moment there's no automated way to produce a graph of the % demand data within Domoticz. You can always grab the data using JSON and then plot in another tool, but it would good to be able to view the data directly within Domoticz.

    Dan

  7. #7
    Automated Home Guru
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Posts
    238

    Default

    Hi Paul,

    Sorry, I didn't manage to extend the auto-naming to the Zone Relays in this release. The Unit value indicates which zone they're which should help in identification. I've re-worked the zone naming in the next release so Zone & Relay devices are all correctly named - coming soon.....

    Dan

  8. #8
    Automated Home Guru
    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Posts
    238

    Default

    Just a quick update to let you know that I've updated the Domoticz Evohome wiki to describe all the new HGI80 functionality available in version 4.5337 beta onwards.

    https://www.domoticz.com/wiki/Evohome

    Enjoy!

    Dan

  9. #9
    Automated Home Legend paulockenden's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    South Coast
    Posts
    1,645

    Default

    Thanks Dan.

  10. #10
    Automated Home Legend paulockenden's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    South Coast
    Posts
    1,645

    Default

    This is odd: one of my rads apparently got a 325.1 degrees set point a couple of days ago!

    image.jpg

    Rad isn't actually on though, or showing this rogue setpoint.

    P.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •