Results 1 to 10 of 28

Thread: Windows 10

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Posts
    33

    Default Windows 10

    I know that there is work ongoing to sort a windows 10 compatible version of Cortex but is there any possibility of that becoming available before the 29th July deadline for the "free" Windows 10 upgrade passes ?

  2. #2

    Default

    This may be an option for some - we recently did it in work...

    1. Take an image of your current OS Cortex machine (we used Acronis True Image)
    2. Go ahead and do the free upgrade to Windows 10
    3. Take an image of the Win10 setup
    4. Roll back to your previous image until Cortex update available

    There have been no licensing issues we've seen with this so far but check it out before you try it.

    M.

  3. #3
    Automated Home Ninja Viv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    284

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by M.Harrison View Post
    I know that there is work ongoing to sort a windows 10 compatible version of Cortex but is there any possibility of that becoming available before the 29th July deadline for the "free" Windows 10 upgrade passes ?
    If you are running Cortex on Windows 8 then their is every chance it will run after updating to Windows 10.
    That actually happened unitentionally to one customer.
    However I don't recall if we had to tweak anything.

    On Windows 10 systems we do have the current Cortex running as new installs and being used by customers and ourselves.

    Some issues may be experienced with Skype depending on what MS change.

    Getting Cortex working on Windows 10 should be similar to procedure used for Windows 8. See

    http://www.idratek.com/support/downloads/ about 8 lines down in first paragraph

    The UAC has to be turned off.
    Cortex.exe needs administrator privileges and its properties edited. Updates are OK after editing.

    For Cortex to startup automatically you need to place a new shortcut file in the startup folder.
    To locate Windows 10 startup folder look at this.... http://www.howtogeek.com/208224/how-...n-windows-8.1/

    It will be something like

    C:\Users\Me\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Windows\Star t MEu\Programs\Startup\

    A CortexStart.bat file should be created in the c:/program files (x86)/Idratek/Cortex folder
    The CortexStart.bat file needs to contain the text
    Start Defibrillator.exe
    Start Cortex.exe

    So a shortcut to CortexStart.bat is placed in the Windows 10 startup folder.

    -----------

    The Cortex development referred to by Mark is an ongoing development.
    It uses a newer compiler.
    It uses internally newer third party software.
    It will support future internationalisation (Unicode).
    It has a newer licencing system. An update fee is expected.
    It does not access the registry.
    Some obsolete features will not be supported.
    Xpl,
    X10,
    Scripting (has not been supported for some time).
    PCA Interface (Rs232).
    It should..
    Appear virtually the same as current Cortex.
    Accept existing databases with some changes.
    Allow UAC not to be turned off.
    Cortex bridge objects replaced with newer API based access.
    It is still being tested and a new installer prepared,

    Viv

  4. #4
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Posts
    33

    Default

    Viv Hi - thanks for that. My installations are on Windows 7 but I l'm going to take a look at upgrading the backup PC first before doing the primary PC.

  5. #5
    Automated Home Legend chris_j_hunter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    North Lancashire
    Posts
    1,676

    Default

    think I understood all of that, apart from UAC - no idea what it refers to !

    even so, should we update to Win10 - OK it's free, but that's just the upfront cost - if it doesn't go smoothly, then could be a nightmare, and how do you cost that ?

    no idea what MS will charge later, but they've usually got away with murder - OS & Office ...
    Last edited by chris_j_hunter; 18th July 2016 at 10:24 PM.

  6. #6
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Posts
    33

    Default

    Chris - It's the User Account Control. That annoying dialog box that pops up every time you try to do anything that may affect a system action. Can be turned off in control panel but do remember if you do then it allows other users/programs to make changes to your system as well...

    Allegedly MS claim that there will be no future editions of the OS to have to pay for upgrades which is the incentive to upgrade but like you say I'm sure they'll find some way of making us pay for something. The other thing to bear in mind that they will kill off support and fixes for Win 7 very soon (only still happening due to large commercial use of 7) and I'm sure they'll quickly follow that with Win 8/8.1

  7. #7
    Automated Home Legend Karam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    826

    Default

    My personal opinion is that you have to view your Cortex PC as a control box and not as a general purpose PC. So, unless there is some particular advantage to Cortex or some kind of connectivity to your system of going to Windows 10 then why should you move to Windows 10?

    I have some systems still running on Xp for over 10 years. They do their particular job and that's that. I'd say fairly good lifespan for a control box. When the time comes to change these I will probably be faced with having to use a W10 box (or will there actually be something beyond at that time ? :-) ) but otherwise why move the o/s on the old ones (even if I could)? I also administer some other systems using W7 and W8.1. Basically if they are working happily I have little incentive to change the o/s.

  8. #8
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Posts
    33

    Default

    Karam - Good point - guess it really comes under the good old "if it ain't broke don't fix it". So really should be thinking of is it really worth the effort ??? and by the time I'm forced into having to do something about OS upgrades then the current hardware that my Cortex PC's are using wouldn't support whatever the current OS is at the time anyway...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •