Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 21 to 28 of 28

Thread: OPENTHERM Compatible Combi Boilers?

  1. #21
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    988

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by myboiler-jayesh View Post
    So will the Atag iS work straight out of the box with any OpenTherm compatible control, ie with Nest 3rd Gen, Evohome via the Bridge or any other OpenTherm controller?
    That I can't answer definitively as I am not an installer but my gut instinct is that any OT controller will work with Atag boilers. In my set up, the Honeywell OT bridge connects directly to the boiler via the 2 low voltage OT terminals. If the user isn't bothered about HW priority then only one zone valve is required (with an associated BDR) to the Evohome controller. My system is set up for HW priority. Rather than having a 3 port valve, my system has been configured using the existing HW zone valve and an inline (power off OPEN) valve on the CH system. When the HW zone valve opens, the CH inline valve closes.

    The only reason that I have raised this issue is because of the inference in your listing that an Atag ONE controller is required for OT use..

  2. #22
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by HenGus View Post
    That I can't answer definitively as I am not an installer but my gut instinct is that any OT controller will work with Atag boilers. In my set up, the Honeywell OT bridge connects directly to the boiler via the 2 low voltage OT terminals. If the user isn't bothered about HW priority then only one zone valve is required (with an associated BDR) to the Evohome controller. My system is set up for HW priority. Rather than having a 3 port valve, my system has been configured using the existing HW zone valve and an inline (power off OPEN) valve on the CH system. When the HW zone valve opens, the CH inline valve closes.

    The only reason that I have raised this issue is because of the inference in your listing that an Atag ONE controller is required for OT use..
    Hi HenGus,
    I have updated the list with the new information. I contacted Atag directly as I am an installer but haven't worked with their product yet. They have stated the Atag Controller is not required for OpenTherm, that information may have come from another site.

    Following is the information they have stated: "'iS' range of ATAG boilers requires a 3 Port diverter valve kit and ATAG ONE controller or a 3 Port diverter valve kit & ATAG 7 Day Two Channel Plug-In Digital Programmer (Touch screen). This kit is ATAG only for ATAG controls. It is OpenTherm ready out of the box."

    I have added you as a contributor. If you have a full name you would like me to use, I can update it to show your name. Thanks for your contribution to keeping the list updated. The layout of the page was also updated today, so I hope it is more improved and easier to read.

  3. #23
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    1,003

    Default

    I am wondering if your page could also reflect the undocumented wiring that I needed to make to my Vaillant boiler to get the VR33 + OT Bridge work. As far as I can tell, no one else has needed to do that. It's to do with the fact that the Vaillant 4xx series don't have a 24V thermostat input on the boiler PCB, as shown in the VR33 instructions.
    Also from memory I think the ecoFit also needed something different done @dty could confirm, I think the VR33 slotted into another named space.

  4. #24
    Automated Home Ninja
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    489

    Default

    The VR33 just slotted into its space in the electronics compartment of the EcoFit with no other wiring, etc. required.

    (As an aside, I also have a VR40 which fitted neatly into the designated space on the other side of the compartment.)

  5. #25
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bruce_miranda View Post
    I am wondering if your page could also reflect the undocumented wiring that I needed to make to my Vaillant boiler to get the VR33 + OT Bridge work. As far as I can tell, no one else has needed to do that. It's to do with the fact that the Vaillant 4xx series don't have a 24V thermostat input on the boiler PCB, as shown in the VR33 instructions.
    Also from memory I think the ecoFit also needed something different done @dty could confirm, I think the VR33 slotted into another named space.
    Please can you elaborate.

  6. #26
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    1,003

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dty View Post
    The VR33 just slotted into its space in the electronics mcompartment of the EcoFit with no other wiring, etc. required.

    (As an aside, I also have a VR40 which fitted neatly into the designated space on the other side of the compartment.)
    Wasn't the name of the pcb slot different on the ecoFit, than as per the instructions?

  7. #27
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    1,003

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by myboiler-jayesh View Post
    Please can you elaborate.
    http://www.automatedhome.co.uk/vbull...ll=1#post28823

  8. #28
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bruce_miranda View Post
    I have added the thread to the page. Thanks for the information, if you think any other information will help the page and support installers, please feel free to let me know. Warm Regards.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •