Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: BDR91 instead of HCC80 for Underfloor heating

  1. #1
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Posts
    3

    Default BDR91 instead of HCC80 for Underfloor heating

    Hello,

    I'm fairly new here.

    I am renovating (slowly) an old property and have Evohome.

    The heating is a system boiler, 50kw approx. Unvented cylinder and radiators over 3 floors with 5 zones and HW controlled at the moment.

    I have electric UFH in 3 room's which I plan to "trigger" using BDR91's, all circuits are under 1kw, so no need for a contactor. I would then use a room stat in that room, I trust this is a sound plan?

    I am just doing the next 2 rooms which will be wet UFH, I purchased 2 x Y87RF2024 kits, to get the above room stats, so have 2 x BDR91 relays surplus to requirements.

    Do I need to use the HCC80R? Or can I just use the BDR relays, connected to MT4/8 valves?

    Does anybody have a good link for wet UFH manifolds?

    Many thanks for any help.

    Regards
    Ricky

  2. #2
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    996

    Default

    You only need the HCC80R is you are using a single manifold and trying to create zones. Even there you can be clever and use BDR91s with wired acutators if you just need a couple of zones.

  3. #3
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bruce_miranda View Post
    You only need the HCC80R is you are using a single manifold and trying to create zones. Even there you can be clever and use BDR91s with wired acutators if you just need a couple of zones.
    Thanks a lot for your reply. I think this is the route I'll go, I will have one manifold for the 2 or 3 zones, but it'll be cheaper and better to use a couple of these kits,
    http://www.screwfix.com/p/honeywell-...mpatible/2230h

    I have the BDR and stat included.

    I'll let you know how I get on.

  4. #4
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    996

    Default

    But you still need to add the price of the wired actuators

  5. #5
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bruce_miranda View Post
    But you still need to add the price of the wired actuators
    Yes of course, They're not that expensive though.

    Not sure if I need 4mm or 8mm actuators yet.

  6. #6
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    996

    Default

    But come to think of this. How would the bdr91 supply power to the wired actuators and the actuators need a way to sense partial open and close too, not just on and off. So I don't think connecting them to a BDR91 will work.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •