Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 24

Thread: Self build - wiring for future

  1. #1
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    13

    Default Self build - wiring for future

    Can someone point me in the right direction. Want to cable out house for all possibilities- multiroom av tv's,phones,data,cctv etc all linked up.

    Or should i go wireless???

    Wiring about to start in next week or so. I have seen enclosures on internet for above. Any recommended ones?

    Is it best to run all cables(cat5e and pf100) to central location?
    Don't know what size metal boxes to install for different sockets?

    Head is in a spin thinking about it!! Help!!

  2. #2

    Default Re: Self build - wiring for future

    Welcome

    Have a read through this for starters...

    http://www.automatedhome.co.uk/modul...showpage&pid=2

    Wireless has a place, but if you have a chance to cable in a new build you'd be mad not to!

    M.

  3. #3
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    13

    Default Re: Self build - wiring for future

    Thankyou for your swift reply

    Link was very interesting.

    Ive seen a wiring diagram on aldoussystems
    http://www.aldoussystems.co.uk/acata...ser than this?

  4. #4
    Automated Home Guru vex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Herts/Beds/Bucks
    Posts
    197

    Default

    Hi Joe.

    Firstly, for a basic 'all rooms wired for service' type of Home Network pulling CAT5e and Coax back to the same location is a great start.

    Personally I would recommend a minimum of 35mm back boxes as standard, if your design will take 47mm it will certainly be better. In most situations they just give more space to work in, but some IR receivers and most in wall amplifiers do actually need all that depth.

    The Industry Standard seperation spec calls for 5cm / 2" seperation and cross any power cables at 90 degrees. Pay particular attention to high induction sources and stay way from them. i.e Microwaves, Flosescent Lights, larger motors etc.

    If you havent seen it, have a quick read of the article I have writen for this months Hidden Wires website.

    www.hiddenwires.co.uk
    www.intouchtech.co.uk (trade)
    NOW PART OF INVISION UK, One of the leading home technology distributors to the CI Market.

  5. #5

    Default Re: Self build - wiring for future

    Quote Originally Posted by joe90wido
    Read that 25mm is suitable for most, but 47mm is needed for IR devices??
    Personally I specified all 47mm boxes in our build to give maximum flexibility. In the grand scheme of things it'll make no noticable difference to the price in a new build.

    M.

  6. #6
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    13

    Default Re: Self build - wiring for future

    Thanks for the replies.

    Have been looking at konnect2net site which has confused me more!
    That is, which way to go. They advertise a system called Lexcom, in which tv can be passed through Cat 7.

    What do you guys recommend???

  7. #7
    Automated Home Guru vex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Herts/Beds/Bucks
    Posts
    197

    Default

    It really depends on what you want to achieve.

    The Cat7 based system adds a great level of flexability to any system and they are all wired in the same cable and connector presentation in the rooms. This allows you, the resident, to chose which service is available at which point including UHF Tv and Freeview. It can not pass signals direct from a satellite dish.

    The disadvantage? Cable and Termination costs.
    The cable is about 40p per meter and the outlets are almost 5 per point!

    A well designed hybrid system (coax and cat5e) in a standard 3/4 bed home will be slightly less flexable but can still meet the families requirements.

    How close to London are you? Might be worth you coming down and seeing the Smart Home Zone at the Home Building and Renovating Show at Excel at the end of the month.
    www.intouchtech.co.uk (trade)
    NOW PART OF INVISION UK, One of the leading home technology distributors to the CI Market.

  8. #8
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    13

    Default Re: Self build - wiring for future

    Due to more delays now starting wiring. Some more questions for you if you don't mind

    What size metal boxes for master lounge wall plate?(standard double?)


    When installing a rj45 and tv outlet next to each other,will dual accessory boxes do the job?

    Reason i am asking, i'm afraid all these sockets etc may look ugly!!! :?

    Also, in main lounge mounting 42" plasma on the centre of wall. In same room will have sky,dvd,video and multi room audio(4 zone) all located in a cabinet of some sort(if i find nice one)

    My original plan was to have all this in cupboard next door, but advised against it. Unless you have some ideas?
    Cupboard next door will have mini enclosure with patch panels etc.

    Planning to channel wall where sky etc is located and put 100 by 50mm trunking in the wall.
    What cables would i need to run to this?

  9. #9
    Automated Home Guru vex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Herts/Beds/Bucks
    Posts
    197

    Default

    Not sure if the details are available on the web, but do some research on Legrands' TV Corner.

    This is a 3 gang wide and either 1, 2 or 3 gang high, flush mounting wall plate.

    1 Gang high offers 8 Module spaces
    2 Gang high offers 12 module spaces
    and
    3 Gang high offers 18! modules

    This makes the great for exactly what you are trying to do. I am just waiting for my next batch of custom outlets to come in and I will produce a flier for them.

    Let me know if you don't find anything.

    Chris
    www.intouchtech.co.uk (trade)
    NOW PART OF INVISION UK, One of the leading home technology distributors to the CI Market.

  10. #10
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    13

    Default Re: Self build - wiring for future

    Mounting a plasma on the wall in node 0. What cables should i run to this in the wall? ops:

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •