Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 46

Thread: Image file for Domoticz running on a Pi with HGI80 drivers installed

  1. #11
    Automated Home Legend paulockenden's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    South Coast
    Posts
    1,594

    Default

    If you're struggling to download large files check the MTU on your network (clients and broadband router). That's often the problem.

  2. #12
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    1,001

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by paulockenden View Post
    If you're struggling to download large files check the MTU on your network (clients and broadband router). That's often the problem.
    Good point. I have a BT HH5 on Infinity so the MTU is not adjustable and is fixed at 1488. I need to make sure all the clients are set to that too.
    There is something definitely wrong with my network and large files. Even though I thought I had downloaded the image completely, Winzip is complaining that the file size is incorrect.

  3. #13
    Automated Home Legend paulockenden's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    South Coast
    Posts
    1,594

    Default

    Sorry if this is granny and egg sucking but use ping with the 'do not fragment' flag, and setting the packet size to determine the best MTU for the client. Don't forget to allow for the frame overhead.

    P.

  4. #14
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    1,001

    Default

    Did that and confirmed that my MTU indeed needed to be 1488 for my NAS to connect to dropbox.com. It was previously set to 9000. Downloaded the file again via the NAS and this time the entire file came down without a problem. I've never needed to change that before and often download large files and have never had the problem. My pc wifi clients with the changed MTU setting to 1488 still gets stuck at 0.3GB for some reason.

  5. #15
    Automated Home Legend paulockenden's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    South Coast
    Posts
    1,594

    Default

    9000 is jumbo frames. Needs the router to support them too.

    As for the PC, maybe the frame overhead is higher? Especially if you have things like QoS enabled

    Try

    ping google.com -f -l 1488

    Does it say "packets needs to be fragmented"?

    If so, try setting the MTU to 1472.

    Actually, before you do that try:

    netsh interface ipv4 show subinterfaces

    to conform that the MTU really IS set correctly, and hasn't defaulted to 1500 on the relevant interfaces.

    P.

  6. #16
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    1,001

    Default

    both my windows and mac laptops won't download the file via Chrome and Wifi. MTU has been set manually on both to 1488 which is the value set on my BT HH5. Download works fine on the Synology NAS, which is hardwired into the network. So I really don't know what is going on. All the laptops stop downloading at 0.3GB for some reason.

  7. #17
    Automated Home Legend paulockenden's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    South Coast
    Posts
    1,594

    Default

    But like I said, the clients might need an MTU that's less than set on the router.

    The ping test is the only way to set it, reliably.

    P.

  8. #18
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    1,001

    Default

    It seems like the MTU settings on the client take a while to take effect. Setting my MTU manually on my mac allowed a download via Chrome and Safari. Previously both were failing when they got to 318MB. I also confirmed by going back to the default MTU of 1500 that the downloads stopped at exactly 318MB with the default setting.
    Now to working out why my windows PC still isn't taking the manual MTU setting. Maybe like everything windows, it needs a reboot for the values to take effect.

  9. #19
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    1,001

    Default

    i realise that I am at risk of turning this into a Networking forum. But I don't seem to have any joy downloading this image directly on to my windows PC.

    Code:
    Microsoft Windows [Version 10.0.14393]
    (c) 2016 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.
    
    C:\WINDOWS\system32>netsh interface ipv4 show subinterfaces
    
       MTU  MediaSenseState   Bytes In  Bytes Out  Interface
    ------  ---------------  ---------  ---------  -------------
      1488                1    2585852     591111  Wireless Network Connection
      1500                5          0          0  Local Area Connection* 6
    4294967295                1          0      28196  Loopback Pseudo-Interface 1
      1500                5          0          0  Local Area Connection* 7
      1500                5          0          0  Bluetooth Network Connection
      1488                5          0          0  Local Area Connection
    
    
    C:\WINDOWS\system32>ping google.com -f -l 1488
    
    Pinging google.com [172.217.23.46] with 1488 bytes of data:
    Packet needs to be fragmented but DF set.
    Packet needs to be fragmented but DF set.
    Packet needs to be fragmented but DF set.
    Packet needs to be fragmented but DF set.
    
    Ping statistics for 172.217.23.46:
        Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),
    
    C:\WINDOWS\system32>ping google.com -f -l 1460
    
    Pinging google.com [172.217.23.46] with 1460 bytes of data:
    Reply from 172.217.23.46: bytes=64 (sent 1460) time=11ms TTL=54
    Reply from 172.217.23.46: bytes=64 (sent 1460) time=11ms TTL=54
    Reply from 172.217.23.46: bytes=64 (sent 1460) time=12ms TTL=54
    Reply from 172.217.23.46: bytes=64 (sent 1460) time=11ms TTL=54
    
    Ping statistics for 172.217.23.46:
        Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
        Minimum = 11ms, Maximum = 12ms, Average = 11ms
    
    C:\WINDOWS\system32>ping google.com -f -l 1460
    
    Pinging google.com [216.58.208.174] with 1460 bytes of data:
    Reply from 216.58.208.174: bytes=64 (sent 1460) time=60ms TTL=54
    Reply from 216.58.208.174: bytes=64 (sent 1460) time=63ms TTL=54
    Reply from 216.58.208.174: bytes=64 (sent 1460) time=534ms TTL=54
    Reply from 216.58.208.174: bytes=64 (sent 1460) time=887ms TTL=54
    
    Ping statistics for 216.58.208.174:
        Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
        Minimum = 60ms, Maximum = 887ms, Average = 386ms
    
    C:\WINDOWS\system32>ping google.com -f -l 1461
    
    Pinging google.com [216.58.208.174] with 1461 bytes of data:
    Packet needs to be fragmented but DF set.
    Packet needs to be fragmented but DF set.
    Packet needs to be fragmented but DF set.
    Packet needs to be fragmented but DF set.
    
    Ping statistics for 216.58.208.174:
        Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),
    This is why I set my MTU to 1488 which seems to work fine on the MBP.

  10. #20
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    1,001

    Default

    Did you expect this error on your build?

    Code:
    2017-01-12 21:20:15.112 Domoticz V3.6136 (c)2012-2016 GizMoCuz
    2017-01-12 21:20:15.112 Build Hash: 7affb87, Date: 2016-12-13 07:44:57
    2017-01-12 21:20:15.113 System: Raspberry Pi
    2017-01-12 21:20:15.113 Startup Path: /home/pi/dev-domoticz/
    2017-01-12 21:20:15.687 Error: PluginSystem: Failed load 'libpython3.5.so', Python probably not installed on system.
    2017-01-12 21:20:15.726 Active notification subsystems: http (1/12)
    2017-01-12 21:20:15.750 WebServer(HTTP) started on address: :: with port 8080
    2017-01-12 21:20:15.787 WebServer(SSL) started on address: :: with port 443
    2017-01-12 21:20:15.793 Proxymanager started.
    2017-01-12 21:20:15.798 Starting shared server on: :::6144
    2017-01-12 21:20:15.804 TCPServer: shared server started...
    2017-01-12 21:20:15.805 RxQueue: queue worker started...
    2017-01-12 21:20:17.806 EventSystem: reset all events...
    2017-01-12 21:20:17.811 EventSystem: reset all device statuses...
    2017-01-12 21:20:17.814 EventSystem: Started
    P.S. : Later found that it is a "feature" of the beta! https://www.domoticz.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=14784
    Last edited by bruce_miranda; 12th January 2017 at 10:37 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •