Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 123456 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 55

Thread: Which OpenTherm boilers work well with Evohome?

  1. #21
    Automated Home Ninja
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    489

    Default

    I'm about to replace my boiler from the 15th century with a Vaillant EcoFit Pure system boiler and attempt to OT it. Where are you guys sourcing the VR33s from?

  2. #22

  3. #23
    Automated Home Ninja
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    489

    Default

    Clearly going to have to brush up on my Dutch...

  4. #24
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    1,885

    Default

    Google translate ?

    If you use Chrome just click the translate button in the address bar.

  5. #25
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    1,042

    Default

    In fact on that site if you just keep translate on you can complete the entire ordering process without any issues. And payment is via PayPal any way.

  6. #26
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    989

    Default

    Just found this:

    https://uk.myboiler.com/opentherm-capable-boilers/

    Not sure that the list is 100% accurate as I know the Viessmann 200 is not an Opentherm boiler.

  7. #27
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    NE UK
    Posts
    1,038

    Default

    Can someone please explain, probably for me in words of one syllable, what open therm does? When I look it up it seems to be no more than the boiler being told what to do when the control panel deems it necessary. But that's what mine does now with Evohome and my boiler is not opentherm. It's 20 years old this year.

  8. #28
    Automated Home Ninja
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    489

    Default

    Evohome only tells your boiler to come on or go off. If it decides it needs only 50% of the boiler capability, it will turn it on for 10 minutes, then off for 10 minutes. So your boiler is constantly turning on and off which is inefficient and also causes thermal stress and wear and tear on the boiler and other components such as the pump, valves, etc.

    With OpenTherm, Evohome can tell the boiler it wants 50% load, and the boiler will modulate its output to match and, if you're lucky, stay on permanently at a lower load rather than cycling.

  9. #29
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    NE UK
    Posts
    1,038

    Default

    Thanks. Much appreciated.

  10. #30
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    989

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by G4RHL View Post
    Can someone please explain, probably for me in words of one syllable, what open therm does? When I look it up it seems to be no more than the boiler being told what to do when the control panel deems it necessary. But that's what mine does now with Evohome and my boiler is not opentherm. It's 20 years old this year.
    This might help:

    http://www.honeywelluk.com/Documents..._FINAL_WEB.pdf

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •