Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 42

Thread: Netgear Orbi Mesh WiFi

  1. #1
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    NE UK
    Posts
    1,176

    Default Netgear Orbi Mesh WiFi

    Help!

    Because my BT HomeHub has never been as good as it should be, wifi disappears and all that, I have invested in Netgear's Orbi system. It seems to work fine and the signal is good around the house. One problem. The Evohome Control Panel does not see it. Everything else I have requiring a wifi connection has no problem and all have set up perfectly but the Control Panel fails to find the Netgear system. It is the only device out of many that will not connect. I have tried selecting "other" on the Panel and inputting the name of the Wifi Router and the password but it does not connect. The Panel sees the wifi of my neighbours either side of me and across the road but not the Neatgear despite being next to it. Anybody got any ideas? Has the Panel got an old type of wifi system in it?

  2. #2
    Automated Home Legend paulockenden's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    South Coast
    Posts
    1,693

    Default

    What channel are you using for 2.4GHz. Make sure it's 11 or below.

    P.

  3. #3
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    NE UK
    Posts
    1,176

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by paulockenden View Post
    What channel are you using for 2.4GHz. Make sure it's 11 or below.

    P.
    Thanks. It was set to "Auto". I should have thought of that. I have forced the 2.4ghz frequency to 11 and it works. The only problem is I believe it can give some degradation in the wifi signal. It works though and will do some more research. The nether Orbi also seems to work well everywhere in the house.

  4. #4
    Automated Home Legend paulockenden's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    South Coast
    Posts
    1,693

    Default

    I've been testing Orbi here and really like it. I'll miss it when I have to send it back to the PR agency.

    BTW, haven't tested it with this router, but on most if you convince it you're in the USA it won't use bands above 11.

    But I do wish manufacturers would stop releasing kit with this silly restriction. Often the kit will open up once you tell it you're not in the US, but you need to make a US style wifi connection with it before you can do that. Catch-22.
    Last edited by paulockenden; 17th January 2017 at 08:01 PM.

  5. #5
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    2,193

    Default

    Or Honeywell could update the firmware to support channels 12 and 13 ?

    After all, the Evohome isn't sold into the US market, so why use US channel numbering ? I'd have to check but I think all EU countries that it is sold in do support channels 12 and 13.

  6. #6
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    NE UK
    Posts
    1,176

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DBMandrake View Post
    Or Honeywell could update the firmware to support channels 12 and 13 ? .
    Asking too much?!!

    I am only 3 days in using the Netgear Orbi but it is so far proving far better than anything else I have tried over the years. The signal gets to parts other routers and expanders cannot reach. I have yet to see how far down the garden I can get and still connect. The Evohome Control panel is happy once I forced the Channel to be 11 and whether it is because it is happier connecting to the Netgear or not I have found using the app away from home has been better. Quite an improvement on the BT Homehub. My wife has stopped complaining about losing connection with her iPad!

  7. #7
    Automated Home Legend paulockenden's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    South Coast
    Posts
    1,693

    Default

    It's a lovely bit of kit. I just wish (other) reviewers would stop referring to it as a mesh network. It isn't. The (shared) dedicated back-channel means it's effectively a star topology.

    Sorry non-nerds, I was just having a little moment there!!!! ;-)

  8. #8
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    NE UK
    Posts
    1,176

    Default

    Nice to know I am a star topologist. Does that mean I get to walk down the red carpet at the Oscars?

    More seriously I go on to be impressed with the Orbi.

  9. #9
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Posts
    24

    Default

    Just read this thread and it made me go look at the Orbi. Wow that is an expensive wifi router!

    We've always had wifi reception issues in different parts of the house. I recently moved to a BT smart hub having been taken in by the advertising (no difference over previous hubs plus a poor stability), so am now starting to look for alternative solutions.

    The Orbi is about £300 over my original budget! If it's as good as claimed, maybe I should consider it? Are there alternatives that anyone would recommend?

  10. #10
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    5

    Default

    The Linksys Velop, not necessarily cheaper but a lot faster.

    http://www.linksys.com/gb/c/whole-home-mesh-wifi/

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •