Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 28

Thread: Domoticz beta now has in core support for Evohome web API

  1. #1
    Automated Home Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Posts
    134

    Default Domoticz beta now has in core support for Evohome web API

    After having converted evohomeclient to C++ I've been working on adapting this code for insertion in Domoticz. Meaning no more scripting, cronjobs and other external fiddling. I've also made use of the opportunity to add some direct feedback, although this does require some guess work for modes 'Away' and 'Day Off' as these can be reconfigured on the main controller but do not seem to be exchanged with the web portal. I do have something of a learning feature in place for 'Away' mode, but this will currently not survive a Domoticz restart.

    There's also a bonus for Honeywell in this because since the client now runs a service I do not need to perform requests for information that rarely changes. Something funny about the web portal though: it drops user sessions after a set time from when it was initiated rather than when it was last used. As a result I do need to renew some of that information every hour and I've chosen to renew everything at that point. You may see that when enabling display of the next scheduled switch point and you change schedules on the main controller. Or you change the name of a zone. It can take up to an hour for Domoticz to pick up such changes.

    Enjoy,
    Gordon

  2. #2
    Automated Home Ninja
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    489

    Default

    To clarify, is this a replacement for the Evohome scripting integration? Does it in any way impact the Evohome HGI80 integration?

  3. #3
    Automated Home Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Posts
    134

    Default

    It does not impact HGI80 integration. The original combined code for HGI80 and scripting was already split up some time ago to allow this new implementation to be added. It is also not a replacement of script, which remains as a separate connector, but you can switch between the two without losing any data.

  4. #4
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    1,828

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by gordonb3 View Post
    It does not impact HGI80 integration. The original combined code for HGI80 and scripting was already split up some time ago to allow this new implementation to be added. It is also not a replacement of script, which remains as a separate connector, but you can switch between the two without losing any data.
    Does your C++ version include the changes I made to the script (updated on the wiki by DanD) to query high resolution zone temperatures using the old V1 API ?

  5. #5
    Automated Home Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Posts
    134

    Default

    No. This implementation uses UK/EMEA API only.

  6. #6
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    1,001

    Default

    Is the web client worth considering for people using the HGI80? Having said that, I rarely use Domoticz to change anything. It's soooo much quicker to make changes on the controller and I still live in house where I can walk to the controller faster than the app takes to reconnect.

  7. #7
    Automated Home Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Posts
    134

    Default

    Don't think so, but opinions may differ. The main issue with this would of course be that there will be two instances for every zone in your Domoticz view: one for the HGI80 and one for Script or Web API.

    With regards to quick changing of settings, I did have a one touch shortcut to the stand-alone client last winter to fire up the heating in the children's bedrooms for five minutes as they would be preparing to go to bed. This would be sufficient to make the radiators hot enough to warm up their rooms from as low as 15⁰ to 20⁰ or higher, even after the setpoint had already moved back to night mode. Having moved to internal Domoticz I'll probably recreate that app with the feedback to Domoticz stripped from it. It worked very well and is definitely quicker than doing the same on the main controller.

  8. #8
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    1,001

    Default

    Oh don't get me wrong. There are several reasons why another controller interface might be better than the actual controller itself. You gave a great example. Another one I use a lot is a modified Eco that takes all Setpoint down by 1-2C rather than the stupid 3C that doesn't work if the zones are already close to 15C.

    I use an Amazon Dash button in 2 bedrooms to provide a 1 hour boost function. Fires up the boiler for an hour to 20C.

  9. #9
    Automated Home Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Posts
    134

    Default

    Hmmm.... interesting thing you just said. Does 'Eco' not set below the 'Away' setpoint? What if the actual setpoint is already below that value?

  10. #10
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    1,828

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by gordonb3 View Post
    No. This implementation uses UK/EMEA API only.
    Well that's a shame. No use to me then - I wouldn't want to go back to temperature readings that are biased half a degree towards the set point and then rounded to the nearest half degree on top of that. (Like the controller display itself)

    The main reason I run Domoticz at all is to view the dashboard with accurate, non biased, non rounded two decimal place temperature readings!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •