Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 25

Thread: What time does your controller think it is?

  1. #1
    Automated Home Legend paulockenden's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    South Coast
    Posts
    1,562

    Default What time does your controller think it is?

    Mine is currently three or four minutes out.

    If we're all out my that much then we're all syncing against a time source that's not correct. But if it's just mine then it obviously isn't syncing at all - perhaps I need to fire up wireshark to find out why not.

    P.

  2. #2
    Automated Home Jr Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    22

    Default

    The time on my controller is correct. I am using the non-WiFi model with a RFG100 gateway.

  3. #3
    Automated Home Ninja
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    489

    Default

    My wifi controller appears to be about a minute ahead of reality.

  4. #4
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    NE UK
    Posts
    1,007

    Default

    I have the wifi model. Mine 2.5 to 3 minutes. Always is. I think I have only had it show the correct time after removing the batteries and when it restarted. It was no long before it was wrong again.

  5. #5
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    1,795

    Default

    I checked mine when I got home and it was about 2 minutes ahead of the correct time even though Wifi was connected and automatic time configuration has always been enabled.

    I did a battery out reboot and after re-establishing a Wifi connection the time jumped to the correct time. Given we were all seeing different errors and that mine came right after a reboot I would say that the problem is not that the time server time is incorrect, but that the client has stopped syncing with the server (until the reboot) and has just drifted out of time.

    Two minutes error in the 30 days or so since I last rebooted the controller seems consistent with normal drift after no longer syncing.

    So it looks like the latest firmware still has timekeeping related issues.

  6. #6

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DBMandrake View Post
    I checked mine when I got home and it was about 2 minutes ahead of the correct time even though Wifi was connected and automatic time configuration has always been enabled.

    I did a battery out reboot and after re-establishing a Wifi connection the time jumped to the correct time. Given we were all seeing different errors and that mine came right after a reboot I would say that the problem is not that the time server time is incorrect, but that the client has stopped syncing with the server (until the reboot) and has just drifted out of time.

    Two minutes error in the 30 days or so since I last rebooted the controller seems consistent with normal drift after no longer syncing.

    So it looks like the latest firmware still has timekeeping related issues.
    I am running beta firmware and my time is fine. New FW's rolling out over the next couple of weeks/months. We will monitor this to see if this fixes (assuming issue in first place).

    PS The first couple of FW's are maintenance releases (ensuring security/platforms etc), some new features & updates are due after that, pre Winter. As I get more details I will post.
    getconnected.honeywell.com | I work for Honeywell. Any posts I make are purely to help if I can. Any personal views expressed are my own

  7. #7
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    NE UK
    Posts
    1,007

    Default

    Since this thread started I have kept an eye on my Control Panel. It is always 3 minutes ahead of the correct time.

  8. #8
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    1,795

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by G4RHL View Post
    Since this thread started I have kept an eye on my Control Panel. It is always 3 minutes ahead of the correct time.
    Try rebooting it. Mine is spot on.

  9. #9
    Automated Home Guru
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Posts
    122

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DBMandrake View Post
    Try rebooting it. Mine is spot on.
    Mine is 2min 30 sec ahead of right time. It seems a bit poor that we would need to reboot the controller to get it to synchronise the time.

  10. #10
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Location
    NE UK
    Posts
    1,007

    Default

    Mine has been rebooted but it goes back to its 3 minutes difference. It is slightly less than 3. Somewhere between 2.5 and 3.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •