Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: where to get Cat5 to Coax cable

  1. #1
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    2

    Default where to get Cat5 to Coax cable

    need a cat5 to coaxial (tv aerial plug) cable, but am having probs finding anywhere that sells one?

  2. #2
    Automated Home Guru vex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Herts/Beds/Bucks
    Posts
    197

    Default

    Lexcom make one, but it is only of use if you have thier system which uses CAT7 cable.

    You can not get the standard tv channels down Cat5e.

    Input Integration on konnect2.net can supply these if they are what you want.

    Chris
    www.intouchtech.co.uk (trade)
    NOW PART OF INVISION UK, One of the leading home technology distributors to the CI Market.

  3. #3
    Automated Home Lurker
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: where to get Cat5 to Coax cable

    ah yes, i think it was you who emailed me their details earlier on! cheers

  4. #4
    Automated Home Guru vex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Herts/Beds/Bucks
    Posts
    197

    Default

    Ah Har!

    I thought it was to much of a conicedence!

    Chris
    www.intouchtech.co.uk (trade)
    NOW PART OF INVISION UK, One of the leading home technology distributors to the CI Market.

  5. #5
    Moderator toscal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Near Alicante Spain
    Posts
    2,010

    Default Re: where to get Cat5 to Coax cable

    You could try Abitanna. But once again it requit¡res their specialised Cat5 cable. Their site is www.abitana.com or their UK distributor www.minitran.co.uk.
    You might want to try loking at this site http://www.kat5.tv/index1.html . But this is for transmitting composite video and stereo audio over cat 5.

  6. #6

    Default Re: where to get Cat5 to Coax cable

    Quote Originally Posted by percybigun
    need a cat5 to coaxial (tv aerial plug) cable, but am having probs finding anywhere that sells one?
    If you do succeed in finding one you may be less than please with the results. CAT5 cable does not have sufficient bandwidth the carry the whole 470-860MHz UHF TV band without considerable attenuation towards the upper end.

    If your TV channels are at the high end (Mine are 62, 55, 59, 65, 52 for 1-5 respectively) then this could cause big differences in signal strength which cant simply be amplified. It requires amplification of specific channels to ensure that levels remain approximately the same otherwise some will be overloaded whilst others will be grainy and those sort of amplifiers arent cheap!

    Hope that helps

    Regards

    Keith
    KAT5.tv - affordable high quality AV Distribution
    http://www.kat5.tv

  7. #7
    Automated Home Guru vex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Herts/Beds/Bucks
    Posts
    197

    Default

    Hi Keith,

    He actually has a Cat7 system installed and was looking for a RJ45 to TV balun to allow him to peel off the UHF channels passing down his Lexcom system.

    Agree with the Cat5 comments there are a couple of systems out there and the attenuation is scarey at the upper frequencies (50dB over 100M!)
    www.intouchtech.co.uk (trade)
    NOW PART OF INVISION UK, One of the leading home technology distributors to the CI Market.

  8. #8

    Default Re: where to get Cat5 to Coax cable

    Hi Chris,

    With CAT7 he should be OK especially if his signals are not right up at the high end. Still cant say where to get the Balun though.

    Despite Channel 5 being the lowest channel number for our terrestrial stations it is still unwatchable but I suspect that is more to do with the fact that 1,2,3,4 are transmitted at 250kW and 5 is only 4kW :cry:

    Being 40 miles from the transmitter and having a huge ugly 1970's shopping centre directly in the way probably doesnt help either!

    Regards

    Keith
    KAT5.tv - affordable high quality AV Distribution
    http://www.kat5.tv

  9. #9
    Automated Home Guru vex's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Herts/Beds/Bucks
    Posts
    197

    Default

    Lexcom do one specifically for thier system and we have an installer on the case.

    I believe thier TV amp has tilt on it to overcome the attenuation at the higher frequencies.
    www.intouchtech.co.uk (trade)
    NOW PART OF INVISION UK, One of the leading home technology distributors to the CI Market.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •