• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Leo
    Automated Home Lurker
    • Jun 2017

Smart Home Renovation Project

Hi,

This is my first post to the forum so hello. I will begin with I am fairly new to smart home systems. I have done a fair bit of research on the forum and elsewhere but would like the opinions and guidance of people more in the know.

We are due to complete on the new house in a couple of weeks and it requires fully updating which will include a rewire and a new heating system so I would like to get a plan in place as it is the ideal time to run cables for now and in the future.

I would like to make the following systems smart but if there are any other suggestions please put them forward as I am open to anything at this stage

Heating Control

The property is fairly big so I would like to be able to zone it and control the system from away. The research I have done would suggest using Honeywell Evohome system. Would you agree?

Lighting

I would like to be able to control the lighting from away from home, set scheduales etc but would also like a physical light switch in the rooms. This said I would rather the lighting be able to be controlled remotely even if the switch is in the off position. As we will be rewiring I have the option to configure the wiring to whatever suits best. I have seen the fibaro dimmers but are there any other suggestions as I could 3 wire to switches or have no hard wired switches at all if that was the answer. This said I would like it to be reliable to avoid blackout! If the lighting can work with motion and proximity all the better.

Smart Power Points

I am guessing that I will just use the plug in types such as the Wemo?

Networking