• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • ericd
    Automated Home Jr Member
    • Jan 2016

Evohome problems - assistance please!

Hi there,

Have been experiencing issues since Monday. When HW failed to heat.

My boiler is an excellent NBE RTB Biomass boiler. (Built like a tank, monitored online - highly recommended!)

My Evohome setup has separate BDR91's for CH and HW.

Boiler not firing up is unusual. It can send me an email if the pellet hopper is blocked (and has done before!) but is pretty much rock solid.

Did some tests and although BDR's were lighting up contact wasn't getting to the boiler. Suspected the CSR92 batteries had failed so swapped them for a fresh set.

Speaking to installer we suspected that the two port valve might have failed. I'm no expert but I ordered a replacement powerhead and it was a straightforward swap out.

Afterwards I called for HW and everything ran as it should.

Today though, the timed event programme happened but there was no HW heating.

During the morning, I could see (from the boiler event log) that there were a few calls for heat between 11am and noon. I was out at work.

Came home and got on the phone with Honeywell. Spoke to a very patient chap in Bucharest and we attempted to diagnose the issue.

We re-bound the BDR's. And then went again from the top doing the CS92 first, then the other two.

That call finished just after 4pm. I called for heat and my HR80 opened and green light on the BDR.

But I noticed that when I cancelled the heat demand the green light on the CH BDR did not extinguish.

I set a test programme for HW and the HW BDR lit but no signal got through to the boiler after waiting fifteen minutes.

The support number is now closed for the weekend. My system has worked pretty much flawlessly for the past four or so years. Had an HR80 issue recently but that was solved.

Can anyone shed any light on where the fault may lie?