Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 30

Thread: Evohome - Lost comms with pretty much everything?

  1. #11
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    988

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by garmcqui View Post
    The Evohome controller is not the WiFi version, it's the earlier one with separate gateway.

    The BDR's are mounted approx 600mm apart, on brick wall. See photo...

    Attachment 1078


    Does the software versions etc look ok on the last photo I attached? The dates don't seem too recent? Or how do I check firmware version?

    Thanks,

    Gareth
    Give Honeywell Evohome Support a call. They are extremely good at helping people resolve issues with Evohome. I wouldn’t worry about the firmware. I had the Gateway model for 2 years and there was no downloadable content for it either via the Gateway or the USB connection.

  2. #12
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    1,804

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by HenGus View Post
    Thanks. I hadn't picked that up from the Release Notes.
    There were release notes ?

  3. #13
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    988

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DBMandrake View Post
    There were release notes ?
    Irony - the use of words to convey a meaning that is the opposite of its literal meaning.

  4. #14
    Automated Home Legend paulockenden's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Location
    South Coast
    Posts
    1,577

    Default

    Have you tried moving the controller to closer (maybe a couple of meters away) to the BDRs? Just to eliminate comms issues?

  5. #15
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    1,804

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by HenGus View Post
    Irony - the use of words to convey a meaning that is the opposite of its literal meaning.
    Winking icon - the use of imagery to hint at the use of irony.

  6. #16
    Automated Home Guru
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Posts
    102

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by paulockenden View Post
    Have you tried moving the controller to closer (maybe a couple of meters away) to the BDRs? Just to eliminate comms issues?
    The controller is only approx 12 feet from the wireless relays anyway, but yes had tried moving closer

    I suspect either the DHW relay or the evohome unit itself. Obviously, a replacement BDR91 would be the first option (especially as purchasing one with a single zone thermostat is almost the same price).

    I just can't believe it's given up the ghost already

  7. #17
    Automated Home Ninja Dan_Robinson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    347

    Default

    How much you buying one for? I have a few in stock that can be yours for less than a single Zone kit.

  8. #18
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    988

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by garmcqui View Post
    Hi,

    My parents have an Evohome system installed, 4 Zones, DHW and gateway.

    This morning they woke up to no heat, no hot water and solid red light on the wireless relay for DHW. The controller had lost comms with all 4 zones as well as the DHW sensor and a comms test to both the DHW relay and the heating demand relay failed.

    Seems very strange.

    I got dad to take the batteries out of the controller for a few minutes and reinsert them. On coming back up, it has synced with 2 of the 4 zones but still no comms with the DHW sensor or either BDR91.
    I have to ask, why is the focus on a faulty BDR (or BDRs) given that the OPís parents have had issues with both HW and CH?

  9. #19
    Automated Home Ninja Dan_Robinson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    347

    Default

    Experience.

    I've had more faulty BDR's than I've had base stations.

  10. #20
    Automated Home Legend
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    988

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Dan_Robinson View Post
    Experience.

    I've had more faulty BDR's than I've had base stations.
    Fair enough: but both BDRs?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •